Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2013
I HAD BOTH THESE ALBUMS WHEN THEY FIRST CAME OUT ON VINYL IN THE EARLY 1960s, AND THANKS TO THE FOLKS AT JASMINE, AND ALL THEIR GREAT REISSUES OF SUCH CLASSICS FOR THAT MATTER, ITS NICE TO BE ABLE TO REPLACE THEM ON CD AND HAVE THEM IN MY COLLECTION AGAIN NEARLY 50 YEARS ON. THEY CAN HARDLY BE CALLED 'MODERN' SOUNDS AFTER ALL THAT TIME, BUT THEY CERTAINLY STAND UP WELL IN THE TEST AND DON'T SOUND A BIT DATED -- OR PERHAPS MY TASTE IN MUSIC JUST HASN'T CHANGED! THE WORD 'GREAT' IS APPLIED SO FREELY TO MANY OF TODAY'S TOP ACTS, WHEN PERFORMING AEROBIC MOVEMENTS TO TRY AND ENHANCE THEIR SOMETIMES IFFY SKILLS AT SINGING LIVE, BUT YOU CAN USE BOTH 'GREAT' AND 'CLASSIC' UNTIL THE COWS COME HOME WHEN REFERRING TO THE LATE RAY CHARLES. THOSE TWO WORDS ARE BOTH ACCURATE AND MEANINGFUL. I'LL SAY IT TOO -- GREAT! CREATIVE STUFF LIKE THIS YOU'LL NEVER GROW TIRED OF -- ALL AT A RESPECTABLE PRICE TOO, AND YOU GET A COUPLE OF BONUS TRACKS FOR YOU MONEY! RAY WAS A GENIUS ... A NICE ONE, AND YOU FOLKS AT JASMINE -- THANKS!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Forget the title; if you like great music performed by a superb artist with a terrific orchestra delivering amazing songs, then buy this!
Ray Charles is well known, however, this, one of his earliest albums (unusually a double) from the late 50s, has all his best-known songs and many ohters besides. Soul, country, pop, jazz and blues meet head-on to create a timeless masterpiece.
Just like Jools Holland and his Rhythm & Blues Orchestra, everyone on this album sounds like they are having great fun.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
It's Charles. What more can I say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Great to hear this record again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
What can one say, I had this as a record but it got damaged and to find the CD is amazing, I love this CD which holds fond memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I first heard this album growing up and nearly 50 years since it's release it's still amazing. A true classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In 1962 Ray Charles released two of the greatest albums of the 20th century - Modern Sounds In Country And Western Music, Volumes 1 & 2. They were genre bending albums with an African American, the definitive exponent of soul music, re-defining the music of the white working classes. Volume 2, arguably the better of the two albums, has never been released in the CD format until now.

The albums produced five massive hit singles: "I Can't Stop Loving You", a number one on both sides of the Atlantic; "Your Cheatin' Heart", "You Are My Sunshine", "You Don't Know Me", and "Take These Chains From My Heart".

The genius of Ray Charles was to combine not two but four genres in his interpretations of twenty four country classics: the lush strings of easy listening, big band brass, the definitive voice of soul and the beautiful simplicity of country music.

To match that, the albums would expose Ray Charles to a wider audience than had previously existed and, at the same time, introduce another audience to country and western music.

Listening to these albums, now remastered on to one disc, it is not difficult to imagine the shattering effect that they had on the world of popular music nearly half a century ago as black and white America met in a glorious, unforgettable musical fusion.

An essential, historical benchmark.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Ray Charles singing Hank Williams songs with lush strings backing on many tracks. There are also some lesser known gems in this - No Letter today, Midnight, A Worried Mind and Born to Lose.If some of today's artists think they are soul singers, they should listen to this and see how far short they fall.Incredible value for a great product. It took me ten years of searching for this on CD before I found it and bought it and it was well worth the effort and wait.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
This CD contains what were orginally two separate vinyl albums recorded by Ray Charles in February and September 1962. Musically these were genre-busting releases at the time, and went on to sell in huge numbers; in terms of novelty, imagine if today [say..] Jay-Z decided to release an album of covers from the likes of Fairport Convention and Pentangle!

The really pleasing thing about the CD release is that the producers have thankfully avoided any temptation to fiddle about with sound of the original recordings, such as changing the equalisation to match 'modern' replay equipment or tastes. The quality of the original recordings is superb, with just the right amount of studio ambience and a very 'live' feel, and the CD does sound very much like the vinyl releases, albeit without any pops and clicks.

This is one of those albums that should be in the collection of anyone who's serious about 'popular music' of any sort, or for that matter, just 'music'.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Don't be fooled by the Country & Western-tag because this is an album of exquisite big band, harmony vocal backings, and that gorgeous Ray Charles voice with appropriate piano. Ray was brought up listening to The Grand Ole Oprey on the Saturday-night wireless, and his affection for the music resonates throughout, whatever the pace or tone. Including the old-time HEY, GOOD LOOKIN', the moody YOU DON'T KNOW ME, the big-band ballad YOU ARE MY SUNSHINE, Ray duets with Majorie Hendricks...you can tell they knew each other real well. This album is brimming with musicality. And, if you're not convinced, remember it also contains I CAN'T STOP LOVING YOU
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)