Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2017
A forgotten gem I'd somehow lost in my collection but so great & puts later work to shame.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
modern classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
GREAT ALBUM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Possibly my favourite DM album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
I've been a fan all my life (I'm 44yrs old now) and still find myself strangely drawn to this album. Arguably it's my favorite, but I also like MFTM.... and SOTU..... and Black Celebration. This album defined the way they were going. It begins with, what some might call challenging, Something to do. Then the heavy reverb of Lie to Me massages your brain. Master and Servant 'hints' at life/business symmetry with a bit of S&M mixed in. Somebody serenades you then a knight rescues you in Stories of Old. Pacifism is preached in People are People, and in stark contrast, Blasphemous Rumours preaches something very dark that most Christian parents wouldn't want their children to hear. In short, the album became a template for how Depeche Mode would construct future albums. You can take elements from any of these songs and see them in any future Mode songs; John the Revelator, Corrupt, One Caress, Wrong, Peace, Angel of Love, etc. The album has a haunting quality. It keeps drawing me back to listen. Out of all DMs albums, I've probably played this the most, next to Violator, MFTM, SOTU & SoFaD. Of all my favorite songs they have done, I still favor Stories of Old & Lie to Me as two of the strongest songs ever written, next to Walking in my Shoes, One Caress, Sweetest Condition & Welcome to my world. This is definitely an iconic album of the era and of Mode
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
"Some Great Reward" is the transitional album for Depeche Mode. Whilst the poppier edge of previous albums is still evident suddenly there was a darker more perverse side which was to showcase where the Mode were heading. In fact, at the time, the album was almost entitled "Perversions" but decided against so as not to put off the parents of 15 year old schoolgirls from buying it...evidence indeed that the Mode still had an eye on the teeny boppers whilst suddenly realising that they were outgrowing the polished pop of a few years earlier.
1984, the year of release, was a year where metal bashing industria was popular and "Some Great Reward" is no exception in that battered oil drums and sheets of metal from the local junk yard are used to beef up the normal Mode drum machine and percussions.
The sexually politicised "Master & Servant", in your face pop of "People Are People", the anti-Basildon opener "Something To Do" and the building site backdrop of "If You Want" best showcase the industrial feel of the album.
However, it's not all power induced metal bashing. "Lie To Me" is one of Depeche Mode's most sexy and funky moments to date whilst beautiful ballads such as "Somebody" and "It Doesn't Matter" (personally one of my favourite songs of all time...for personal reasons!) highlight the more tender side of the album.
The most intense moment comes with the contreversial but excellent God baiting "Blasphemous Rumours", apparently a true story and a fantastic way to finish a fantastic album.
This really was the starting point of Depeche Mode as we know them today and is well worth investigation.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Ordered from dodax and although not the quickest delivery, the record is in fantastic condition and plays without any crackles or pops. Very happy with my purchase. I'm not reviewing the music as if you're buying it, you know what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2004
Following the politically motivated "Construction time again",SGR found Martin Gore exploring more personal waters, while the group were expanding and experimenting more with sound, determined never to repeat a sound twice.The industrial German bands still a strong motivator fuelling the fascination to sample anything that moved.
The album was recorded at Hansa studios in Berlin within sight of the Wall. Martin was also living there at the time and the songs written for SGR were obviously influenced by the city, as well as his growing fascination with wearing make up and dresses.
This album is a Stereo and sampling masterpiece, best appreciated with headphones The album showcases some of Martins most stunningly if simple lyrics. Some Great Reward spawned 4 singles the first of which, People are People although one of there more embarassing moments, was instrumental in breaking them into the American market in a big way. Standout tracks include, "Something to do" - a brill social statement reflecting small town angst (a la Basildon where the lads grew up) as well as "Blasphemous Rumours" the motivation for which according to Martin came from the co-incidence that during church service the first name on the prayer list would always end up dying.
I Also love the lyric on "Stories of old", simple and strong.
Martin sings two songs on the album "It doesnt matter" being my favourite and Somebody.
Highly recommended for fans of old and new. A true original as only the Modes can muster.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2004
Another great album by the ever brilliant Mode. No fear at all in using technology regardless of how technical or simplistic.
Gore again outstanding with his songwriting abilities, Gahan as always superb in putting the feeling into each track as required.
Just excellent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.72

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)