Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
427
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2007
This was the first film I ever saw at the cinema, way back in 1973 when I was a small boy (when I did not know or care about aspect ratios). I used to live near Sherwood Forest so this film and the legend of Robin Hood were, and still are, very special for me.

It is great to see this film again on DVD in a re-mastered special edition. I found the picture and sound quality to be very good indeed even though I watched it on a small portable player. The film features some excellent actors doing the characters' voices - Peter Ustinov and Terry Thomas are perfect as Prince John and Sir Hiss and Phil Harris is a cool Little John even though this character seems to be a bit of a rehash of Baloo, the bear from Disney's version of The Jungle Book.

The animals chosen to play the human characters are an excellent choice. Robin Hood is a cunning fox and Maid Marian is of course a sexy vixen (Monica Evans has one of the most beautiful voices you will ever hear) and The Sheriff of Nottingham is a greedy fat wolf. A special mention must also be given to country singer Roger Miller as Alan-A-Dale (a rooster in this film) who narrates the tale and provides several of the songs.

The extras on this disc include a couple of fun games which younger children will enjoy and an unused alternative ending, albeit in storyboard form. I think it is a matter of opinion whether or not this ending would have been a better one than the one they actually used. I personally think this alternative ending is a bit dark compared to the tone of the rest of the film but it is interesting to be able to see it all the same.

To summarise Disney's Robin Hood, I would say that it is a great story with a host of wonderful characters, excellently voiced, and featuring some catchy songs that will have you singing along or whistling. This is my favourite Disney movie and it is still one of my favourite films of all time. If you have not seen it, it is definitely worth checking out - especially in this superb DVD version.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2006
A 'minor classic'? I'm sorry Amazon, but no way. Of all the Disney cartoons, Robin Hood has ALWAYS been my favourite - just look at the other reviews or compare RH's price with other cartoons of it's age; whose kept it's value when everything else is being sold for £2.99? Robin Hood.

Okay, so there are so cheesey moments - it's Disney for crying out loud! Robin is the cheeky chappy you can't bare see loose, Maid Marion isn't a wishy-washy damsel in distress (well, not all the time) and Alan Rickman fan though I am, Pat Buttram is the ONLY sheriff.

Disney's running out of ideas (Little Mermaid 2 anyone?) and frankly the drawings (esp the human ones) are getting worse. Kids may like the new stuff, but kids AND adults will like the older ones. And with my kid sister ranting over the BBCs new Robin Hood series, I think it's about time I got her watching this version. Either that or the old Maid Marion & Her Merry Men series!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 3 December 2015
I bought this film on DVD recently for my four year old great grandson. I didn’t think he would like it but he must have watched it twenty times since he got it and he can now sing most of the songs off by heart! He also watches it with his five year old cousin and even friends from other houses in the street. It seems to have real appeal to younger children even though it is over 40 years old.
It is a cartoon film produced towards the end of the ‘golden age’ of hand-drawn cartoons before the advent of computer generated imagery (CGI). The old hand-drawn cartoons had a depth of colour and tone that is simply not achievable in CGI. Anybody who remembers the old Tome and Jerry cartoons or ‘Looney Tunes’ cartoon from the 1940s and 1950s will know what I mean. The artwork can only be described as beautiful and the attention to detail is incredible. Young children still find it mesmerising.
The fila has been digitally remastered so it looks as good now as it did on the cinema screen all those years ago when it was first released. The sound quality is excellent.
The story is loosely based on the legend of Robin Hood. Even today most people will be familiar with the basic story line. The characters are appropriate animals. Robin Hood is clever and cunning so he is a fox while Little John is a kind of big cuddly bear. The voices are also very well matched. Robin Hood has a kind of kind and cultured neutral English accent while Prince John has a kind of sly and slightly sinister voice (the classic Terry Thomas voice). A big Rooster acts as a kind of narrator. He tells the backgrounds tory and links some of the scenes together. In my opinion it is still thoroughly entertaining and stands as one of the Disney masterpieces of the pre CGI era.
In my opinion it is very much a children’s film. It has a nice simple storyline and easy to understand characters with a clear distinction between the good guys and the bad guys. It contains plenty of nice simple songs that children can (and do) learn off by heart. The artwork and colours are guaranteed to appeal to younger children as they are quite simply beautiful. In my opinion it would have more limited appeal to older children and families. Some of the rally old family members (like me) might enjoy it simply for nostalgic reasons.
I bought it for £5 on Amazon and for that modest sum my great grandson and his pals have had hours of good quality entertainment and have learned lots of songs. It is great for a rainy afternoon or a cold winter’s evening by the fire. For £5 it has to be a great bargain and I certainly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2004
this has been my favourite disney film since i was young. not many people have heard of it, but i absolutely love it! i can't quite pinpoint exactly what it is about it, just that the film never gets boring, and robin's cheeky smile is great!
its perfect for children, and beats the new disney films by far.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2008
when asked what my favourite film is ill invariably say disneys Robin hood and the blank looks on the questioners face normally is just a comon occurance that until they have seen the film they dont understand why its so good!

Children and adults alike will love this film, ok the graphics are dated but for 1973 they are very good, the story is jolly, heart warming and a great take on an old fable.

The characters are all animals which makes a change, they are all voiced amazingly and fitting to the animal in every way! The film isnt long but with small children thats ok and the music gets stuck in your head for a good day after seeing it!

Its a definate classic for families and for the disney lover this is a must have. if you havent seen it wtch it youll love it i guarentee!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2006
Robin Hood is by far the best Disney film - there is no doubt about it. The voices are pretty distinctive which is always a plus. The songs are so much more catchy than in the other films. "Love" is particularly gorgeous. The romance between Maid Marian and Robin Hood is extremely sweet because in the majority of Disney films the main characters meet once and fall in love (Cinderella, Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty) or don't even meet at all (Snow White). Maid Marian and Robin Hood have actually known each other from being young - the whole concept of childhood sweethearts is generally cute.

Robin Hood also shows the fact that things have to get to being rock bottom before they get better. Robin Hood doesn't just look out for Nottingham and therefore isn't on call while everyone in the area ends up being jailed for not being able to pay their taxes. Disney films (and other cartoons) don't normally show the depths of despair reached in this movie. "Not in Nottingham" is a particularly poignant song illustrating this.

The film is not all doom and gloom and the humour is present throughout, from all the characters - good and bad. The baddy sucks his thumb and is easily flattered - often the cause of his failure.

Watch it and see!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Probably my favourite cartoon - most amusing.
First: While the animation is of decades ago it achieves a number of magical, unforgettable, moments that spring from the animators' minds, not technology.
Second: Animation usually shines for me most brightly in animal characters (some of Disney's most painful moments have human protagonists) and here all the characters are animals (foxes, lions, a bear, snake, badger, rooster, chicken, dog, mice, elephants, rhinos, crocodile and many more) - all quite believable.
Third: Roger Miller (a minstrel) wrote & sung 3 good songs, one which recurs is quite excellent. Also phony scenes where a couple inexplicably break into song are avoided.
Fourth: Voices. Peter Ustinov, Terry Thomas and Carole Shelley are a luxury.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2000
Everyone's got a favourite and this is certainly mine. Roger Miller does an amazing soundtrack and narration with some of the catchiest songs ever to make it into a cartoon. Peter Ustinov, another legend as the tyranical yet infantile Prince (king) John.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2006
Robin Hood is the classic Disney legend that is loved by children and adults alike. Disney's rendition made the legend of 'Robin Hood and his merry men' into a beautiful tale of adventure, hardship, tyranny and love, and above all that good triumps over evil.
The characters are colourful, loveable and have all the unique quirks that mean adults love the little jokes as much as the kids like the more obvious funnies. Good soundtrack & one you can watch over and over again and never get bored.
The Dvd features a sing-a-long of the famous 'ooh de lally', which kids will definitely enjoy, but otherwise the bonus features aren't brilliant. Adults might like the original drawings of the characters but the kids aren't bothered, and other bonus features aren't really worth it.
I rated it as a 5 because it's such a fun, nostalgic and family film to be enjoyed by all the family, but if you're only buying it to update from video then I wouldn't really bother as it's only the film itself that's 5 star; the bonus features are more of a 3.
Do be assured though that kids will love this film and the humour and love story will keep you happy too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I know the animation is dated. So is the music but it is a classic for a reason. The story is timeless. I suppose putting it on DVD you might expect the animation to be touched up a bit, but that is not the case. Like I said the before the story make up for it.

Prince John is taxing the people of Nottingham to poverty. Robin Hood and his Merry Men steal everything back for the people, while inspiring the younger generation to take up the fight. Arrows, swords, bravery, romance, heroics and cowardly villains what not to like, classic stuff. Being a Disney cartoon there is a bit of comedy and humour as well. Ok it is not as funny as when I was 10 but I would still watch this DVD all the way through. This generation loves the anti-hero. Robin Hood was the original and still the best. This DVD is a must have classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here