Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
Ride Out the Dark
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.90


on 31 March 2017
I presume that this Portland outfit provided the tags on their Bandcamp page on which they label themselves as a mix of Americana, Folk, Psychedelic, Kraut Rock and Guitar Band. That's a heady mix and Houndstooth aren't far off the mark. This debut album had me going from the start but it remains a grower and I find myself enveloped in all its loveliness each time I give the disc a whirl. It's folk music but not the regular folk agenda. "Ride Out The Dark" features plenty of punchy guitars, lush instrumentation and the voice of Katie Bernstein which, although inimitable, has some overtones of Hope Sandoval of Mazzy Star and Tracyanne Campbell of Camera Obscura - but only in places because she rises above ersatz in favour of authenticity. And she's fronting a really tight band playing a brilliant shoe-gazing version of alt.Folk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
This is the debut album from a great band from across the pond and has become one of the favourites of the year. What first struck me was the unassuming way the songs just sneak up on you, in a nonchalant way. Then I realised they didn't really remind me of any other band, which is extremely rare these days. They play a kind of Americanised take on British indie-rock, with tasteful bass lines and great guitar playing. The sound of the album is superb too, with just the right amount of reverb and a spot-on guitar sound - not too clean, not too scuzzy. Ultimately though, what makes this a winner is the very well-crafted songs. It's packed full of singalong bits that stay in your head, whilst remaining understated and not really commercial. Quite an achievement.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2013
This is a cracking album - the guitar is the thing that first grabbed me, I cant't remember the last time that I heard an instrument played so fluently and the upbeat melodies really stick in your head - add into the mix a great female vocalist alongside vaguely psychedelic lyrics and the whole thing sounds fantastic - really hope that this band get the following they deserve.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2013
John Gnowski, guitarist with Houndstooth, is one of the most original new players around. He is backed up by a fine, enthusiastic band and cool female singer who provide some great songs and melodies. Hopefully they will become huge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2013
Unusual for two bands to arrive on the scene with similar sounding names (Houndmouth) but after hearing this I don't think they can worry about being confused with anyone else. In line with the other reviews a fine debut album with a refreshing upbeat sound which is tight controlled and bouncy. Once again praise for the fantastic guitar work, whether weaving in and out of the songs or propelling them along. The mellowish female vocal is a perfect fit for the style of music and can be heard clearly even on the 'throbbing' Francis. Here the guitar plays a prominent lead role but also darts about with little flourishes as the song unwinds. A great mix of faster and slower paced songs, nothing sounds samey and no filler! They should be going places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
What a beautiful album that reminds me at times of the Velvet Underground, Galaxy 500, Mazzy Star and Luna. I love the vocals and guitar playing and if you like the above I am sure you would enjoy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2013
Music is personal, this album for me is the best this year, the more I have played it the better it gets. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2014
Very much a slow burner but once you get to like its a very decent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2013
Heard this lot on a freebie CD from Uncut magazine, and the rest of the album doesn't disappoint. Rootsy, cool, psychedelic with a really effortless and unforced vibe. For a debut album, very impressive with female vocalist and guitar to the fore. Also, Houndstooth have their own sound, unlike most bands heavily influenced by 60's/70's music. Look forward to the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
I agree this is a superb album and whilst it's not been produced too cleanly, listening to the mix on headphones, I do find the production a little muddy. Using the Thunder Runner as an example, the lead guitar, bass and vocals have all been placed in the central position with only accompanying instruments taking the far left and far right channels.

This is a shame because it would have sounded better in my view with a bit more of a wider sound scape. It seems they have relied a bit too much on the reverb to create the space in the sound with much of the action happening out in front. Maybe the producer is a bit of a John Leckie fan maybe? (Google the words 'John Leckie' and 'muddy')

It's been mastered a little too hot as well. A bit more dynamic punch and headroom wouldn't have gone amiss too - but hey ho, I suppose this is the 21 Century where engineers just can't help brick wall limiting everything.

Otherwise I can't say any more than what has already been written by others.

Great Band, but they should definitely choose a different producer on the next record!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here