Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
1,353
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2014
Nicely acted and good story made more so because it is based on a true story. If you lke this try to watch ' The Magdalene Sisters' a similar but darker version of these appaling events. It's on You Tube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Superb Film, both actors were excellent and really took you along with the story so very well. A couple of unexpected bits and the humour was a bit bumpy, but overall excellent viewing, would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I pre ordered this so I could view it as soon as possible on release of the DVD. Was disappointed therefore to see it available in the shops beforehand... Still looking forward to a good night viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
My husband and I watched Philomena last night, we thought that the story of Philomena was sympathetically and well told.
Congratulations to Steve Coogan and Judi Dench on an excellent partnership.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent story about a young girl who becomes pregnant in Ireland in 1952 being forced into a convent to give birth and subsequently treated like a slave with her child being sold to wealthy Americans a couple of years later. The story starts on the 50th anniversary of the child's birth when Philomena accepts the help of Martin Sixsmith to try and locate his whereabouts. The film highlights the awful treatment by the nuns and their condemnation of the morals of the young pregnant girls in their charge. A must watch film beautifully acted by Judi Dench and Steve Coogan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Brilliant. The only reason I gave it four stars was simply because I felt sad and a little drained at the end. The story is a hard watch even if it has a lighter feel to it. The acting is world class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Being a young girl and having a Baby in 1962, I felt every emotion with Philomena the heartache and love you feel
like so many of us did, was all in this film beautifully acted. Fantastic Film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Purchased it for wife as a surprise, the reason I bought it was of the good reviews it had. We watched it together and we both thoroughly enjoyed the film. Would recommend anyone to watch this dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Excellent film
Cannot believe the Catholic Church got away with this. Surely adopted children will be given more right now to find their biological mothers in Ireland. Judy Dench is fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Loved every minute. It was a very moving and I did shed a lot of tears. Judi Dench was wonderful as always. Steve Coogan surprised me as he played his role with great feeling. Wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)