Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 March 2017
Having (shamefully) yet to start watching the TV series based on this book, I had a pretty fresh perspective when I started reading. From the earlier chapters of Piper describing her early involvement with the world of drugs and shady acquaintances, through to her experiences endured in prison, I greatly enjoyed it. In a similar vein to Cheryl Strayed's "Wild" (which I loved), she has taken the unfortunate, troubling circumstances she was faced with / got herself into and made the best of it with what she had. The end result is a raw, humorous, inviting look into her struggles and experiences, told in an endearing, personalised way. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
After having worked in a prison myself, I felt this book almost finalised prison, making it seen like one big sisterhood.
It was intriguing at times and a good read however I would go out of my way to recommend it.
I haven't seen the television series therefore cannot compare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Having loved the show, was very glad to find the book and read the 'behind the scenes' of the show. Piper is loveable (in the book) as she navigates through the US prison system, the characters she meets but her own personal challenge to say sane and alive.

I shouldn't need to say it differs from the show but it does. I enjoyed it regardless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
A must have for any OITNB fan! The memoir that inspired the eye-opening series.
The writer is very observant and pulls you right into the world of a women's prison.
The pace is a little slow at the beginning, but if you persevere you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Bloody brilliant book & very interesting to see the difference between the real story & the t.v show, which I also love.

Very good read & a very interesting person, follow her on twitter as Mrs Kerman interacts with her followers & that in itself is impressive.

I really enjoyed her story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2017
Great book, differs quite a bit from the Netflix show but I still really enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Interesting read but series is much more colourful and entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Enjoyed this book but never seen the television programme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
not like the series at all....she seems like a very selfish and self centred woman!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Interesting read. Excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)