Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
346
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
Don't buy if you expect it to be the Netflix series. Buy it if you want to hear Kerman's rather dull (by comparison) treatise on mandatory minimum sentencing. I couldn't get into this at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
An intelligent and heart- warming memoir about time spent within a penitentiary. The book raises many questions about the justice system and the rehabilitative effects of the prison system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
I bought this book as I do not have netflix and liked the look of the series. I am sure the series won't be as good as this well written book. Thank you for sharing your story piper kerman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I massively enjoyed reading this book, although having watched the TV series before it was very different to how it's portrayed on TV. Makes you think differently about the prison system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Loved the TV show. This was very different, but still good. Pacy, interesting and sensitive. Tends a little towards the auto-hagiographical, but it's nonetheless a very interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Started watching the show last week not knowing that it was based around fact. Having downloaded the sample yesterday, i'm hooked - easy read with good details i can't wait to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
Such a great read, really interesting to see the links between the show and the book. I found it so warming, all the ladies' stories, I think Piper Kerman is something really special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
So much better than the Netflix series! Though watching that and reading this book was very enjoyable. If you love the tv series you need to read this! Wish there was more to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Having been watching the tv series on Netflix, I decided to read the book too. It was fascinating to read about the real experiences of the author while in prison. I'd recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I am struggling to get into this one, but I am perservering. I think I'm waiting for something more to happen? maybe it wont? I think I perhaps expected more? But I'll keep going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)