Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Heat [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 14 September 2016
Comedy is probably one of the hardest genres to make a film in, and it is quite hard to please all the people all of the time. So when you rent a comedy you know your reaction is purely subjective and personally I never expect too much, and just hope for a few laughs maybe.
Well no worries here then, because this is an absolutely hilarious movie. Directed by the same person who made 'Bridesmaids' this is another hit, which I hadn't even heard of until I found it here on amazon.

Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy are fabulous, and perfect in their roles as FBI anally retentive agent and maverick police officer, respectively. The plot doesn't really matter, the two female leads are so brilliant you are just waiting for the next big laugh to happen.

This film is definitely on my to purchase list, and will be watched and rewatched, when I need to just escape into hilarity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2016
I enjoyed this movie with Melissa Macarthy and Sandra Bullock, about an Police offcer and an FBI agent who had to work together on a case.When two strong willed characters collide, sparks will fly , but if they can channel that to the enemy and not at each other, they will achiever great things.This is what this two did to become the HEAT. It is a good drama but loses a star for the strong language and swearing done mostly by foul mouthed Police Officer - Shannon Mullins (Melissa Macarthney). The running time is 122mins with subtitles in English for the hearing impaired.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
I liked both actresses before seeing this film, and although the trailers looked terrible, I wanted to give this film a shot. I'm glad I went ahead as there is some comedic gold nuggets to be found throughout this film.

Melissa McCarthy is standout in this, with the silliest/cliched premise she still manages to make it her own. She makes this film, peppered with profanities and wicked one liners. I knew I was in for a good time early in the film with one of the most funny and realistic chase scenes I have seen to date for those who are not superb (superhuman) athletes. Sandra bullock works well as the uptight FBI agent, but it felt very much like other police characters she has played, and she really didn't bring anything new here.

Through the plot is one we have all heard before, the good upstanding officer vs the wise cracking rebel, it serves as a base for good character interactions with solid comedic timing. Overall a good film, one to sit down with a drink and laugh along with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
this is so funny. Always cheers me up. Language is a tad strong in parts, but the laughs more than make up for that. Bullock is an uptight, by-the-rules perfectionist; while McCarthy just steams in, guns blazing and gets the job done, sometimes ignoring the rules. These two opposites have to work together; eventually coming to admire each other's methods. A feel-good, buddy film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 26 November 2013
Ambitious 'F.B.I' agent 'Sarah Ashburn' who's seeking promotion is sent
to 'Boston' to investigate 'drug-barons'
Her path crosses with 'do it my way or no way' cop 'Shannon Mullins.
'Mullins knows her way around the block, the F.B.I. agent will reluctantly
need her help.
Now, the two are teamed up, they really don't appear to have any common
ground on which to build a partnership.
However despite a different approach to the job, their thinking isn't so very
far apart.
The investigation will put them at odds with 'their own' as well as rattling
the drug barons cage as they get closer to the top.
Hugely entertaining, great chemistry between 'Sandra Bullock' and 'Melissa
McCarthy'.....the film is 'coarse' 'rude' 'brash' and pretty damn funny....
one of those films you just have to see.
'Sandra Bullock' has been involved with many superb roles down the years, my
personal favourites 'The Blind Side' and 'The Proposal'
Can't wait for the release on the Blu-Ray format of the film 'Gravity' in which
she co-stars with 'George Clooney'
The disc includes both the theatrical and extended version of the film, the
additional features include, the very funny 'bloopers' 'deleted scenes' and
a number of commentaries.............quite a large amount of extra viewing on
offer in truth.
( The Sub-title options include - 'English' 'French' 'Catalan' 'Danish' 'Dutch'
'Finnish' 'German' 'Italian' 'Norwegian' 'Russia' 'Swedish' 'Arabic' 'Estonian'
'Latvian' 'Lithuania' 'Turkish' 'Ukrainian' ( and I think 'Mandarin )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2017
This film is funny and hilarious in most parts. In some of the scenes absolutely shocked me because I didn't know women cops were allowed to do certain stuff. If you like crazy in your face humour, then this is the film for you boys and girls. I recommend you watch it if you had a really bad day and just want a good belly laugh to blow away the dark clouds in your life. Watch it alone or with your best buddies with plenty of coca cola and tasty snacks flying around for all. Either you love the film or hate it. But folks don't take the screen play too seriously as it is just for entertainment only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
Great film
Bad reviews mention:
good cop and bad cop cliche, most Hollywood films are based on this cliche duh
Man hating and making men look dumb, so I suppose women have never been made to look dumb or objectified its funny it seems to me every other movie they have women to act as the side line fun doll
Swearing good god get a life if you don't like swearing don't watch any 15 plus films morons
The reason why I like this film was while some parts are cringy, a lot is very funny, two strong female leads without being sexualised and speaking there minds while being funny there are not many films like this, I wonder if it was two male leads instead whether the swearing and hating and the cliche would be an issue for example bad boys which is a great movie also
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
The story follows two complete opposites - FBI Special Agent Sarah Ashburn (Sandra Bullock) whom has a long standing reputation of excellence and hot-tempered detective Shannon Mullins (Melissa McCarthy). Both individuals are forced together to solve a crime. A funny, easy-watching film. Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
Read the previous reviews which were either "Wow" or "rubbish" with little in-between. Well, this review IS in-between! Some very funny moments and several one liners are good. Other scenes are loud, unecessarily and simply, vulgar. The acting from Bullock is as expected, very good. She handles comedy very well. Her partners performance is way too over the top to be continually funny, or credible - if only slightly - and frankly, it wears the viewer down a little. Nonetheless, overall this is a film throughout which you will smirk continually. Rather similar to Dark Shadows with Johnny Depp, not hilarious, but quietly funny and amusing. The storyline is very familiar to UK viewers as basic, standard Hollywood fare, the action is equally predicatable, but at lest Bullock's class holds it all together. Not a really bad film, perhaps not a really good film either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2017
Sadly, I have had many DVDS from this company and this is the only one which was not a good quality, Embarrassingly it stuck (in two places) during a scene where the leading actresses were in a cell with a suspect pointing a weapon at his vital parts. Since the DVD was used (and very cheap) and the rest of my order of used DVDs were excellent, I did not send this back. But, like I say, not really expecting the DVD to stick and especially not on that scene!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)