Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
66
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2013
What a treat this is! Martynas plays accordion favourites and more. Totally life-giving and joyful, Martynas is accompanied by a range of other fab musicians, but the tunes never loose their outdoorsy, busking feel! Merry and bright; a great collection of themes for this summer and beyond!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
This guy is obviously a first rate performer and a charismatic soul but why on earth did he choose this repertoire for the accordian which can do so much more in its own right? Martynas has chosen to do covers of music that is perfect in the medium for which it was written. He doesn't need to cover the same ground, he could be inventive, creative and surprise us! It's a.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Very good price, cheaper that in Lithuania. Good quality. Very fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
It was at his family's holiday house in the forests of Lithuania that the three year old Martynas first picked up a small accordian. At first he sang folk tunes he'd heard, playing along with himself on the little squeeze-box.

Fast forward twenty years and Martynas is now a graduate of London's Royal Academy of Music, the recipient of a major record contract, the winner of Lithuania's Got Talent and the victor in the most important international accordian competition, the Coupe Mondiale.

For this album, his sparkling showcase, Martynas has chosen a programme to demonstrate not just his infinite virtuosity (as in the Brahms Hungarian Dance No 5 or Monti's Czardas), but his ability to conjure up a gentle mood of romantic nostalgia (as in Parlez-Moi d'Amour, where he barely breathes upon the keys).

If there's one thread which draws together the pieces on the disc it's Martynas' energy in wishing to share his love of the music; it comes across as vividly now as it must have done to his parents in listening to the little boy all those years ago.

In the booklet which accompanies the CD, Martynas says that he couldn't be happier now that he's able to "speak the language of music to people and their hearts. In the end, that's what music is about, right?"

Played like this, you can only agree. An outstanding release.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
I saw Martynas on BBC Breakfast TV and immediately saw his passion and commitment to the music he was playing. There is a mixture of well known and not so well known tracks to suit every mood. Play it most days loudly if possible!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
As an accordion player I was looking forward to hearing this CD, and I wasn't disappointed:-) A beautiful mix of classical and modern pieces, showing the versatility of this amazing instrument. Martynas is a very accomplished player and all of his playing sounds effortless. I did have a small issue with the balance on a couple of tracks, I found it hard at times to actually pick out the accordion sound. Overall a most enjoyable listening experience, I will buy more of his work.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
This guy has magic hands. His ability on the accordion is spell bounding. Can't wait for his next CD. Even those who don't like the accordion will think twice when they hear this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Accordions and classical music? Not a combination you consider everyday, but this was outstanding (heard through Classic FM, and found the CD on here). Well worth listening to!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
I waited for the mp3. Fabulous. A great talent. It's nice to see the accordion given some credibility. I was brought up listening to my dear late father playing. I was aware that you can play classical, pop and contemporary music. It's great that such a young man has brought this instrument to the forefront and got it into the music charts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I heard this on Classic FM and had to have a copy. Never been a lover of accordion
until now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)