Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
167
4.6 out of 5 stars
Everyday Sexism
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.99


on 8 July 2017
I kept wanting to cheer when I read this book: 'it's not just me!'. The grinding background irritation and dismissal that women put up with on a daily basis and that, at 37, I have almost learnt to tune out. It's here, reflected in these women's comments. Those who dismiss these experiences as 'made up problems' or 'feminist clap-trap' (or ruder versions!) either haven't read it, or are so immune to the daily sexism they no longer see it. Or frankly are the perpetrators of it!
Read it with an open mind. Think back to those times (if you're a woman) when you experience or personhood has been dismissed or belittled due to your lack of a Y chromosome. Then we need, as a society, to put a stop to this!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
An eye opener to a world I knew existed but somehow hadn't quite categorised in this way before now. Such an important read for anyone. Some of it painfully accurate. Much of it worrying as the mother of girls (and a boy who loves all that is pink and sparkly). Keep up the good fight. I'm in your corner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Well written and includes interesting (and gob-smacking) stats which make it easier to see the way sexism permeates our society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
10 out of 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Enlightening, scary, thought provoking and well argued. A well constructed narrative that needs to be read by everyone to understand just where we are as a society and what we need to do change it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Essential reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
This book supports the sad fact that all though we live in a more politically correct era, sexism is still alive and well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Everyone, of every gender, should read this. I dare you not to be moved by it and see the world in a whole new light. Pay particular attention if you are a parent - use this book to help you raise a bright new generation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
This should be a text used in every secondary school across the country!! Brilliant, if somewhat harrowing, reading. Download it now!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
I just read a few of the negative reviews stating that this was feminist rubbish.
Obviously don't read this book if you think feminism is a load of angry men hating women).
This book is feminism at it's best. Informative, eye opening, well written and of course INFURIATING!
A good read for men and women (despite what some people seem to have taken from reading 5 pages of this, Laura Bates doesn't hate men)
Would recommend to anyone and everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)