Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2014
Having paid 37p for this enormous collection of works by Saki, I cannot recommend it too highly. The author was killed during WWI, at Beaumont-Hamel in 1916, shot through the head. The 1918 account of his loss is chilling, and shows clearly how highly he was regarded. The bulk of his writing appears to have been short stories, and they beautifully capture the atmosphere, habits, and thoughts of those who made up the 'society set' of the very comfortably off and their hangers-on. You can consider them to be dated, or you can regard them as an interesting slant on the society of its day (and there appears to be a huge number of people who can't do without their 'fix' of "Downton Abbey"). I find the stories, their settings, characters, and way of life, fascinating, especially when one considers what was to come so shortly afterwards. In that context, what makes for an extremely interesting read is "When William Came", published in 1913, and set in an England which has been utterly defeated in a blitzkrieg campaign, leaving the country under the rule of a German-speaking overlord, whose eagle standard flies over Buckingham Palace: brilliant!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
A friend recommended a particular Saki short story. I hadn't read Saki before so the bargain price was attractive. Since then I've dipped in several times and although some of the stories are weird and dated, many have stood the test of time. I like a short story at bed time as you can get to the end and not be kept awake thinking about it. These are great and a real bargain!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
So yes so far I am thoroughly enjoying this wonderful collection of Saki stories and novels.But because this collection is mega I have a long way to go before I can definitely say that I loved this pack. I think the thing is that being short stories and idiosyncratic ones at that I can't read them straight through like a novel.Each story in the collection given is best approached by dipping in to the series.
I can only read one or two at the most and then my attention wanders.There is some continuity of sorts but not strong enough to make me read at length. And what a variety of genres - social commentary,humor,horror mystery.A mixed bag in fact but all centred around a particular social group,upper class Edwardian England.
Still for the price a real bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I have for years had a hardcover book of the collected works of 'Saki' but I bought this for my Kindle so that I could have it with me to read anywhere. The collection itself is classic, and I personally think brilliant, although for some it may be too dated, in a similar manner to early P G Wodehouse. In a stupid way the book is worth it purely for the typical 'Saki' line - 'She was a good cook as cooks go, and as cooks go, she went'. This particular Kindle edition is comprehensive, well presented and with an active table of contents to enable easy location of particular stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Anyone thinking of writing short stories should read this book; Saki's ability to convey more in a few pages than most writers manage in a couple of chapters is rightly legendary and some of his final twists are brilliant. On the other hand, being a 'complete works' job means there are some less astounding tales and the two novels go quite some way to explaining why his success was as a short story writer..! All in all, well worth downloading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
have only just started reading these stories, not familiar with saki so this is a discovery for me the megapack prices mean you can afford to experiment with different authors, will probably edit this review at a later date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
So many stories, so little cost. Good value for a punt, really, really good value for a lover of Saki.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
you cannot stop reading these short stories. they are all very different and not what you expect . enjoyed novels very much
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I rate the Saki stories amongst the best in English literature; this edition however was unreadable and clearly had not been checked prior to publication, for example, the first pages of the chapters were all at the beginning one after another.
Amazon - Quality check please before publication.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Saki's masterful use of language, his wonderful imagination and his outstanding ability to round off each short story with a flourish, all combine to merit the title literary genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)