Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
Matilde Di Shabran: Pesaro Festival (Mariotti) [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 September 2013
I saw this opera in Pesaro last year in August. Watching the DVD can relive the excitement and pleasure I experienced in Pesaro. Rossini is a genius, Juan Diego Florez the best tenor for this type of opera, Peretyatko not bad (she married the conductor Michele Mariotti last year during the Rossini Festival), Nicola Alaimo very good and M.Mariotti born and brought up in Pesaro - the best Rossini conductor you could ask for. Highly recommended. I saw the opera again at Covent Garden when they brought the Pesaro production here. I am now waiting for the DVD to come out of La Donna del Lago, with Florez, Barcellona, Mariotti, etc. from Covent Garden.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
This is a must have for belcanto lovers. Rossini's music is absolutely brilliant and the libreto is very interesting, a story of transformation by love and poetry, told with good humour. The singers are marvelous. It is superfluous to say anything about Juan Diego Florez, he is absolute. Olga Peretyatko is one of the most extraordinary Young singers of our time. Paolo Bordogna, Anna Goryachova are exceptional and the others, who play relatively minor roles, are also excelent. Staging, direction and ochestra are firt rate.
This is purê joy, perfect!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I can only endorse what other contributers have said - it is, to me, musical perfection. I had never heard of the opera or most of the cast. In fact, I thought I had heard most of the really good operas. But this is an absolute gem. Don't worry about the plot just enjoy great music well played and sung brilliantly by a cast that was clearly enjoying every minute.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Quite apart from the splendid singing, it is worth pointing out that the acting is very fine, especially from JDF whose comic strutting about is a real treat. The set is rather disappointing and not at all visually engaging, but it is serviceable. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
This is a bit of a hybrid landing about half way between buffa and seria .
There are a few rather novel moments such as the opening where the villagers wander through the audience and slowly gather on stage. The technique is repeated occasionally later on on the opera, when characters literally sing in front of the audience.
I like the costumes, I guess them to be 17th century but they look appropriate to me.
The single set is a double helical staircase which also has the ability to revolve, and represents a prison tower. It gives the artistes plenty of exercise, and is quite effective for entrances and exits and bits inbetween.
The cast, Florez is the at least initially villainous Corradino and has plenty of opportunity to display his virtuosity.
Isadoro the hapless poet provides the more amusing parts of the plot, Paolo Bordogna is well cast for this part.
Nicola Alaimo is a commanding presence on stage and has a rich baritone voice, he plays Aliprando and is the Doctor looking after Corradino, his is among the best performances.
Ginardo is a gaoler and Simon Orfila is a fine base baritone voice.
There are three ladies in the cast, the pick of them is the trouser role Edoardo. Anna goryachova is a very pleasant mezzo.
It is fully an hour into the opera before our heroine appears, Olga Peretyako has a clear soprano but I find the voice a bit thin and in some of the longer sections I found myself waiting for her to finish. She is visually very appealing however.
Chiara Chialli as The Countess manages to look very severe and has a slightly deeper pitch than Peretyako, she does a pretty good job of being nasty and enjoying life when her plot is working. Similarly I found her voice a bit wearing at times.
The plot revolves around the eventual redemption of Corradino through love for Matilde, who has carefully his seduction. There are of course sub plots too many to mention, it might spoil it for you anyway.
The music is very good, and involves plenty of coloratura, there are very few arias, and though pleasant non highly memorable. The strength is in the various combinations of duets, trios and I think up to septets, these have plenty of counterpoint and are very enjoyable.
It does fall somewhat short of my ideal hence the four star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
This is an opera treat. Juan Diego Flores delivers a wonderful performance, singing with perfection as Corradino and fully supported by Olga Peretyatko singing Matilde who is very convincing in melting his heart. I recommend this to any Rossini lover since I guarantee that they will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
An undiscovered gem. Rossini at his best with opera buffo. I can understand why it had such a troubled past and as a result is totally ignored by the reference books. This needs putting right. Add to this an exemplary cast and fine conducting with a set that is acceptable you have an excellent recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Really good,i hadnt heard of the opera until very recently,packed with lovely arias and choruses.now one of my very best recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Stage concept is dull and tedious, but musically stunning. Get the CD recording of this performance and that's all you need. This DVD adds nothing to the enjoyment of the music. Not recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
bought for my Dad-blue ray one also first bought because of price but that has been passed on to another friend-rarity of piece and price-excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)