Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Scrabble Original Board Game
Style: Original|Change
Price:£12.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 March 2017
Purchased the board game from the Mattel seller, and (contrary to what some reviews said) this is definitely the original, authentic Scrabble game. It seems that the reviews from 3rd-party sellers get mixed with the actual Mattel listing - so be very aware that some 3rd party sellers might be selling a counterfeit product.
Anyway, this board game is a classic, and is well worth having in the home. The board is folded into quarters for storage (it comes as one piece - not a jigsaw puzzle style board like what someone else said), and is of good quality. The scrabble letters are plastic, as are the letter holders. The game also comes with instructions and a letter bag, but doesn't come with a notepad for score-keeping. I think you can't go wrong with purchasing the authentic Mattel scrabble set, as you know what quality you're going to get.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2017
Just purchased this POOR quality version of the Scrabble game. The board is a thin piece of card which does not lie flat when you open it out. Wish I hadn't taken off the plastic covering. The whole game won't last long and looks very cheap.
review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
I was a bit concerned by some reviews of the game. But it appeared to be of a very good quality. Game board is made of think enough cardboard, printing is very clear and colorful. Tiles, holders and bag are also very nice.
Very happy with the purchase, especially taking into account very reasonable price.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2017
Purchased this for camping trips and train journeys. Small box, love how small the board is and yet entirely usable. It lies flat in the box and there is no need to unfold.

The bag that holds the letters is a small and attractive plastic bag and contains the letters which are not too fiddly.

The racks are very small, but hey, this is a compact travel edition so thats great.

I think if you love Scrabble and want something to play on the run then this is an excellent purchase. Looks like it will last well, though the box might better be tin rather than cardboard. I'd pay extra for that. Nonetheless, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
I owned a much older version of Scrabble and the quality was far higher than this build.

The board itself is lightweight compared to the heavy pressed card they used to make it from. You can see this in one of the Amazon picture itself if you zoom in. The board isn't quite sitting flat on the table because it's so lightweight.

The design of the board is also lacking in that the tiles don't quite fit in the squares. And again you can see this problem in one of the Amazon pictures if you zoom in. Notice how carefully they've spaced out the tiles because the squares on the board are quite large?

After that as many other reviewers have pointed out, the included literature has been dramatically cut down to a single page pamphlet.

Unfortunately this version is the only affordable one out there. The "deluxe" versions receive poor reviews despite being many times more expensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2017
Very cheaply made. Instead of a lid on the box like you would expect on a board game, the box opens on the side and you have to slide everything out. The board is exceptionally cheap. Very thin card, with one fold in the middle which leaves multiple creases in the plastic coating of the board, and doesn't lie completely flat. The letters on the tiles seem a little blurred on the edges, but nothing that would make the letters indistinguishable.
Hard to come up with any positives as I had scrabble as a kid and it was far better made then. Can still play the game perfectly fine, but the quality leaves a lot to be desired.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2016
Came quick after few days very good I made a clock out off it 👍🏼
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Standard scrabble game for the money. No frills, the pieces would have felt nicer and more upmarket if they had been solid rather than sculptured at the rear, makes them feel a bit cheap. No complaints though for the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2017
When I seen it in the picture I thought that's really nice looking. When I got it it's just cheap cardboard that is so thin the cheap plastic bits don't weight it down. I got on to the company that sent some generated crap I didn't read. It's worth about £2.99 I'd say.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
I was disappointed with this scrabble board as it was smaller than I thought especially the letter tiles. They just don't make travel scrabble boards like they used to. I bought one years ago which was perfect in size and design. This one isn't perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here