Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
533
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.45+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
on the whole it is presented well but i would like to have had the little dictionary/rules book with it. i have had scrabble before and the booklet was included. also the tiles are much smaller and don't fit the squares on the board properly.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Scrabble is a traditional game and one played a lot by my family over the years. I bought this set to replace our old set that had become tattered and torn. No complaints; it's shiny new and well constructed. The rules are on a sheet rather than in a booklet and you will need to be armed with your own dictionary. It is a great game, demanding thought, some knowledge and a bit of a tactical mind: what's not to like? A classic.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Firstly, it arrived damaged on the corners. The game is not even in a traditional board game box (base and lid style) but a flimsy fold up one. The board game itself isn't one that folds open but one that clips together like a jigsaw and is in a flimsy dusty plastic tray. The bag for the letters is purple rather than green and the letter holders are black rather than green. This is not the traditional scrabble i was expecting and seems like a cheap version or imitation.
review image review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Received product today after much anticipation, since scrabble is a firm favourite in our family. Board was to replace an older set, but to my disappointment, the board itself is flimsy, and the squares are just stickers- not with ridges to keep the tiles in, so the tiles slide all over the place. Also, as other customers commented, there is no book with rules/words, and no score card! Not worth the money in my opinion, would much prefer to give a few extra pounds and get a set that will be enjoyable to play with. Feel like Mattel are ripping me off.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Very disappointing! This is NOT as the original was. The board is very flimsy not heavy enough to lie flat and why could not the box be with a lid? Basically cheap and nasty. For a few pennies more spent on materials it could be 'original'. Do the people who approve the production of this item ever try using it? I think not. All we needed really was a new set of letters as the old ones were wearing out.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
I owned a much older version of Scrabble and the quality was far higher than this build.

The board itself is lightweight compared to the heavy pressed card they used to make it from. You can see this in one of the Amazon picture itself if you zoom in. The board isn't quite sitting flat on the table because it's so lightweight.

The design of the board is also lacking in that the tiles don't quite fit in the squares. And again you can see this problem in one of the Amazon pictures if you zoom in. Notice how carefully they've spaced out the tiles because the squares on the board are quite large?

After that as many other reviewers have pointed out, the included literature has been dramatically cut down to a single page pamphlet.

Unfortunately this version is the only affordable one out there. The "deluxe" versions receive poor reviews despite being many times more expensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Very poor quality! Came in a damaged box for starter! The images shown on the website are nothing compared to whats in the box. The board was detachable where in the picture it shows a folded board. The titles were white not yellow, the racking was black not green, and no scoring pad comes with the game which i thought was strange. And the board is flimsy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I gave my original scrabble set to the charity shop when we moved house. The one we had was a proper one made of wood. This one does the trick but I find the tiles are a little too small to cover the squares properly
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Exactly what I expected, but it's a shame the tiles were not big enough for the squares and it did not have the scoring pad or pencil
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
A brilliant game for those not so fun afternoons, specially if you go away on holiday, have some boring time to fill in - or just for weekends.
A simply brilliant way to keep the little ones and yourself occupied. I have spent some wonderful afternoons with my son playing this and all the time patting my back for buying such a good educational yet entertaining game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)