Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2015
Too long, too many words. Difficult to find the pearls in the sand of verbosity. The information is there however, hence the 3 stars.
I wouldn't buy it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
It's so, so basic. My mom knows this things ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
The book is not inherently bad, but it's written SEO expert style, endless repetition of the same goals, there isn't enough "ideology" in the concepts to write a book, probably 4 - 5 phrases can save you the money. The audience for this book is clearly not intended to be the modern day tech entrepreneur, but rather some old school PR schmucks who've only ever ran companies at 95% market share and thought they were brilliant, and that have far more political capital than any real skill whatsoever.

It's truly not intended for efficiency, but for corporates stuck in the past to join the 21st century. I purchased the audio book of this, which was far more easy to go through than actually reading, I really struggled to go finish it, since most of the content is boilerplate.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
David Meerman Scott doesn't write like a tutor or teacher, and even though this is an excellent textbook on the rules of digital marketing today, it doesn't read like a textbook at all. Full of exciting, innovative and sometimes funny examples from real life, this is one of the best business books I've ever read.

It's a long read but I devoured the book in a few days. Thoroughly recommended to marketing practitioners in any field, or anyone in business who just wants to communicate better with the digital world. Totally recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
Looking for a book on marketing in English and came across this, another bloody Yank book. Can't understand half of what the author is talking about. Whatever happened to British authors?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
If you’re working in contemporary marketing then you need to read this book – it’s as simple as that. True, not all of it was necessarily directly related to what I do in my day job, but the concepts that are covered here are important across the board, whether you’re a marketeer or whether you’re a specialist, such as a web developer, within a marketing team. Let me tell you why.

The way that people communicate has changed, and brands are struggling to keep up. In The New Rules of Marketing & PR, Scott starts out with a basis in traditional marketing theory, and then expands upon it to cover the competitive landscape in the modern age. Essentially, this is your bible, and it’ll explain to you how all of the different channels that are now available, due to the rise of the internet, the web and social media, can be worked to their maximum potential to generate revenue and profit for your business.

Sure, it’s been a few years since the book came out, but Scott keeps it regularly updated, and so make sure you snag the latest edition. The reason that it has to be regularly updated is that it was one of the first serious books to hit the market when this new phase of marketing emerged, and Scott has continued to write on the subject at length since its publication. He’s one of the de facto thought leaders in modern marketing, which is what makes this book so remarkable.

Incidentally, if you’re wondering why he publishes with his middle name, it’s because there was an astronaut called David Scott. Being known as David Meerman Scott helps people to find him on search engines. Isn’t that an awesome way of practicing what you preach? Oh, and one other thing to note – this book is praised by Brian Halligan, co-founder of HubSpot, who also penned a book with him called Marketing Lessons from the Grateful Dead. I recommend that book, too – combined, they make a force to be reckoned with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
I am writing from Italy and here things run differently: less companies, smaller, slower... BUT this book was inspiring to me. It helped me clarifying some processes that I "had perceived" but not fully got, and it gave me a lot of ideas to boost few situations in which I am currently struggling.
I asked my brother (he's an engineer but works in marketing and events in Uk after a course) a suggestion for a good book, practical and still not translated in Italian. Definitely a very god suggestion!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Excellent - easy to read and understand. A must for novices and seasoned professionals alike!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
David Meerman Scott has created a bestseller full of practical examples of the creative use of digital marketing and makes a clear cut case why the old rules of marketing and PR are ineffective in a world where everyone (well nearly everyone) is online. This book should convince those cynics who cannot see how the use of social media and web sites can drive sales as well as good PR.

What I really like about the book are the illustrated examples throughout, not diagrams and pictures, but in the spirit of being online, lots of very useful footnotes with URL references to useful web pages and websites. This is a book to be read with your ipad or laptop switched on to see what he is talking about. It is also very well written, avoids unnecessary jargon and is easy to read.

I am responsible for marketing & PR in a National Charity where one's marketing & PR budget is restricted and where most of my trustees think marketing is all about placing adverts in magazines and organising events and that PR is getting articles in newspapers and in letters to the editor.

I would say this is a really useful reference for all involved in marketing and for all those working on restricted budgets like myself this book is definitely a must for you.

It validates through examples of best practice the need to develop on-going relationships with customers and the value of personality within a Brand and how social media can help to cement that. I put this up there with Gary Vaynerchuk's books which also give examples of good practice and there are no swear words.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Very interesting book. If you are into Marketing then definitely worth to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)