Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 April 2014
The idea behind this wifi baby monitor is good. The base unit connects to your home wireless network and any specified mobile device ie phone or tablet acts as the receiving device. If you keep your phone charged then it means not worrying about batteries and is convenient to carry around. If everything worked flawlessly then I would rate this a five star product.

Connecting the mains powered base unit to our home wifi network has proven temperamental on a number of occasions, luckily this is not something that needs repeating often. Initial setup requires the downloaded app and setting your phone/ tablet to log on the the base unit's own mini wireless network, from here you provide the details of your home wireless network. Once your phone/ tablet is back on your home network the app should find the baby monitor and allow you to start listening.

The app is fairly intuitive and allows you to show an uploaded photo of your baby in the screen centre. When listening you can see a noise bar and there is the reassurance of background noise so you know it is working. The app contains additional functions such as texting & emailing when your baby cries or monitoring crying patterns. Some of these features require a dedicated subscription which was not cheap by phone app standards so we did not try them.

Our issue with this system is the phone/ tablet or base unit losing the network connection. This happens far too frequently and is by far the most unreliable device on our home network. It is not uncommon for the phone/ tablet to not find the base unit whilst everything else, including other applications on the same device work fine. Dropped connections often do not trigger an alert so the only way of knowing things are working is the hiss of background noise.

Other applications have switched off the monitoring app without warning eg music and receiving a phone call have both done this.

We have tested this over a 7 month period to date. We have moved house, changed broadband providers and upgraded a phone so this has been tested in a few situations: O2 Wireless box, BT Home hub 4, BT Home hub 5 routers and receiving devices were iPhone 4, iPhone 4s, iPhone 5s, iPad 2, iPad 3. Reliability has been consistently less than ideal.

Overall this works 90% of the time but that is not good enough if you are relying on it for your little one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2014
Bought this item to monitor our 1 year old granddaughter when she stays with us. Easy to set up , only took a few minutes to register details and but the software on the iPhone and iPad . Works well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is a propensity for trying to control everything with an iPhone or iPad these days and a lot of them just seem to do it for gimmick value. The BT Smart Audio Baby Monitor (also known as the WeMo Baby from Belkin, who obviously make this version for BT) bucks this trend as it is actually pretty useful.

The principal advantage is that not only can both my wife and I can have a receiver at the same time (our previous monitor only came with one) we don't have to carry anything extra to do so. The monitor itself is small and quite discrete and connecting your phone to it is actually pretty simple (it is almost the equivalent of connecting your phone to your Wi-Fi router, with a couple of extra steps).

If you're in the room with the monitor and you don't want everyone listening in on you, you can just tap the top to mute it. You can also control who's able to listen in from all the connected devices via a control panel in the app.

Of more dubious value, you can also monitor your baby's room from anywhere with an Internet connection. The only use I can see for this is to "spy" on your nanny, as anything that might happen when you're, for example, in the office is obviously out of your control.

Once the theory and benefits are covered, weaknesses quickly appear.

Firstly, the app that you use to listen in on the monitor appears to be showing its age a little, not working properly on my iPad. It also crashed a LOT when we first got started, though after updating the firmware on the monitor things appear to be a little more stable. It still crashes often and some features still don't work consistently, such as the option to add your baby's photo to the monitor screen.

The second item is the sound quality, which is pretty poor for an audio-only monitor. There's a noise cancelling feature which essentially sets the minimum noise level required before it gets sent to your iPhone (eliminating some of the hiss you'll hear through the monitor). This has the effect of the sound cutting in and out as you listen, which can be as distracting as the hiss it is there to get rid of. Audio filtering technology is better than this and a better system should be included in the app.

The third, somewhat shocking, disappointment is finding that some of the features of the app require a subscription fee to be paid. Fortunately they're not all that interesting, basically giving statistics on when and for how long your baby cries, so you don't miss not having them, but an annoying discovery all the same since it is not in the product description.

Finally, using the monitor is obviously going to impact your phone's battery consumption, so you'll need to be prepared to charge up more often than before. Using it via 3G is going to eat into your data allowance too.

There are some features that I really miss compared to our classic monitor that I hadn't thought I would; you don't get a thermometer to warn if the baby's room gets too hot or cold, you don't get a talk-back feature to try and calm your baby and there's no night light or lullaby features.

We went to my mother-in-law's house for a few days and it seemed like a good idea to take the Smart Baby Monitor with us, as it is small and doesn't require extra monitors. Switching Wi-Fi network is not something planned for in the app apparently, so I had to factory reset the monitor and re-install the app to get everything connected again.

Needless to say, I'm pretty disappointed with this monitor. It seems to do the absolute minimum for a baby monitor, only adding the iPhone as a more practical listening device. I am especially disappointed by the BabyAudio app itself, which could have provided a much better experience and a more compelling set of (free to use) features. For the price I'm hard pressed to recommend it, but since it does what it claims I won't recommend avoiding it either.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Discontinued unable to get the app
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
What a great idea......shame it us virtually useless when the app doesn't maintain its connection for long enough.

Will be sending it straight back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2015
Works for only 2-3 mins at a time. Sometimes it won't connect at all. Absolutely rubbish!! Don't waste your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2015
Arrived on time. As described. Happy customer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
Not compatible with iPhone 6. With my old iPhone the connection was always poor. It would take forever to connect and sometimes it wouldn't at all. Shame as it is a good idea and I like the look of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Extremely disappointed in what could be a great little addition to the nursery. Not reliable enough to use for any real length of time, constantly disconnects. It's a real shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2016
Tricky to setup and keeps dropping connection.
I think our internet might not be fast enough, but no mimimum speed was in the spec.
Great idea, just need refining...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)