Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
Impermanent Resonance
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 October 2013
This might be the best album of 2013. It's absolutely fantastic.

Although it's presented as James LaBrie's solo album, don't expect James LaBrie to be the main contributor of either music or lyrics. James has been working with Matt Guillory for many years and really this album is a band album with James, Matt, Peter Wildoer on drums, Marco Sfogli on guitars and Ray Riendeau on bass. Matt's contribution is substantial.

This album is heavy. Really heavy. Yet it's extremely melodic. I found myself humming the melodies from about 5 songs after my third listen. Very memorable.

James LaBrie is probably in the best form I've heard him. Ever. Matt, Marco, Ray - very solid, great performances. What made my jaw drop though was Peter Wildoer on drums. That man is a beast. His style is so inspirational. You can find the video of him tracking the drums for this album on youtube. If you're interested in how things are played and not only how they sound, you really should watch it. You can also find Marco recording guitar. His tone is precise.

Highly recommended. Albums like this don't happen very often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
If you like any sort of rock/metal and prog rock/metal then this is a must buy. And if you have the slightest bit of interest in Dream Theater then why haven't you got this already? James LaBrie's solo albums just keep improving and in massive steps. First one I wasn't that impressed with (while it did have a few stand out tracks), the second one was amazing, and this new one just improves on the best bits from the previous album. Whilst I'd personally prefer some longer progressive tracks to the shorter tracks, this still packs a punch, contains some very memorable and headbanging songs and proves that LaBrie, and the rest of the musicians involved in this production, are very much on top of their game.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2013
Fantastic album, if possible better than his previous solo work. I am still annoyed by the grunts
but they are not so pervasive. The quality of songs, melodies, arrangements, and James' voice, are
all amazing. An instant hit for me, and I can t see how the forthcoming DT album can be better than
this, but we will hear. MUST BUY, NO QUESTION.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
Brilliant - solo albums so much better than Dream Theatre in my opinion!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2016
Very Pleased Thanks !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2014
great service and cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2013
Great songwriting throughout the whole album and a killer production. Labrie's solo efforts keep on getting better. Hopefully he'll start touring quickly with this band. A must buy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2013
Top form for LaBrie. Excellent production. If you ever missed some melodies from Dream Theater's albums you will find them here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2013
This album is a must buy for anyone who loves heavy metal or electric guitars. Better and more solid than the previous two Labrie's solo albums (both being superb), Labrie is in a great form and the guitars are pure bliss - definitely some of the best sounding shreds you will ever listen to, great heavy riffs with varied rhythm in total precision with the drums. The rest of the band with Labrie at the front are at the top of their game - being a huge Dream Theater fan I ended up liking this album a lot more than the DT's last one, intensely great music... The trash metal roars which (IMHO) were slightly disturbing on Labrie's previous album got tuned to minimum while the guitars deliver rhythms and sound which stick in memory. Great album, highly recommended 5 star heavy listening with perfect sound. Can't wait for the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
I initially bought this as a gift for a family member, but after a cursory listen through had to keep it myself and buy them another gift!

James LaBrie is best known for being the Dream Theater singer. The band layout is similar to Dream Theater, as well as there being a lot of impressive technicality to the album. However the style is less 'prog', and I get the feeling that James has had an opportunity to write vocal melody lines to his own particular style and register (in Dream Theater much is written by John Petrucci).

If you like Dream Theater but fancy something a 'little' more mainstream definitely give this a go. Suggested songs to sample before you buy: 'Agony', 'Undertow' and 'Slight of Hand'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)