Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
109
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Collector's Edition|Change
Price:£3.93 - £44.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2014
This is a review about the actual Collector's Edition, and not the game ("Arkham Origins").

*(I, personally, loved the game - although nothing new, it is definitely a welcomed edition to the "Arkham" series!)*

When the parcel arrived, I was slightly taken a back by its size! The box is huge! Definitely well packaged and presented.

Inside the box you get -

Statue: Roughly 11 inches tall, depicting Batman holding up the Joker. This statue has some *great* detail. Although made from plastic, it does not look cheap. It will sit proudly on any shelf!

Art Book/Dossier Pack: Again, well presented and some nice add-on's. The book is a hardback, and is a great and interesting look at the making of the game. I especially liked the character designs/drawings.

DLC Codes: Standard downloadable/bonus content :)

Metal (Game) Pack: A really nice, embossed, metal pack to hold the game's disc. Definitely beats your plain old plastic case!

Over-all, I was very happy with this edition. Personally, as a fan of "Batman" and the "Arkham" series, it was worth the extra money.

The statue alone is amazing, and the additional content compliments a truly great series.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Have to admit I ordered the Collectors edition as I have for the previous versions. Just to say well worth the money as the figurine and extras are nicely made and presented.

Now onto the game itself, as this latest Batman game wasn't made by rocksteady I was prepared for a little disappointment. I can say that this game maintains batman's feel and game play but misses some of rocksteady's polish. The game has locked up a couple of times in my first 2 hours and the cut scenes jar a little when transitioning from the live action.
Also the game isn't as intuitive with some of the clues as the other two.
It feels like this hasn't been polished enough as I feel WB Montreal are a league 2 team unfortunately and in some areas it shows.
I must emphasis though that this is still a very enjoyable game and I am getting engrossed in my game plays.
Just a pity it wasn't the premier rocksteady at the helm.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Got it on the first day, very happy I pre-ordered this as I feel this was well worth the price.

I think its even better than the Arkham City set.The box it comes in is huge and it has the game in a metal pack with the characters embossed onto the cover.... awesome. The statue with Batman grabbing the Joker is fantastic and much bigger than the statue that came with Arkham City. It also comes with an artbook and a folder with an Assasins contracts as well as some GCPD files and a wanted poster. Also the set comes with the Knightfall, Deathstroke and 1st appearance DLC.

I've written a more detalied review of the game itself on the game page, so I'll keep this part breif. The game stays true to its core elements. I enjoyed the story and again there are lots of side missions to get through. Plus I absoultly love the CSI stuff :) One of the biggest flaws though is the issues I've had with the game freezing too often. It feels like the game was rushed out and I really hope this gets fixed in a patch as it is badly needed.

The set itself is definatly a 5-star all the way though, the Batman/Joker statue looks amazing and I think it was well worth the money.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 April 2016
This is the Collector's Edition of the game - and comes with a host of extras ... the most impressive of which is a 12" statue featuring Batman & The Joker (it's highly detailed and looks great). The game itself comes in a very attractive steelbook case. Also included is an 80 page art book, and some DLC's (the Deathstroke challenge pack, and a Batman skin). If you're a gamer who prefers the deluxe versions, you'll probably like this edition of the game.

‘Arkham Origins’ is a prequel to the videogame ‘Arkham Origins’, and the story takes place about 5 years prior to the events of that latter game. It forms part of the wider ‘Arkham’ universe – although is made by a different studio. In many respects, ‘Origins’ is similar in layout, design and objective to the other games in this series – although it adds a couple of new things, and offers an original storyline. Overall, if you have enjoyed the other entries in this series, you’ll probably like ‘Origins’.

The game allows you to play as Batman, from a third-person perspective (‘over-the-shoulder’) and you exist in a large open-world environment within Gotham City. The story takes place quite early on in Batman’s career as a heroic crime-fighter – and, while many hoodlums are aware of “The Bat”, many don’t yet fear him. And yet Batman is making in-roads into the criminal underworld, and so the gangsters want him out of the way. With this in mind, the Black Mask places a $50 million bounty on Batman … leading many gangs, crooks and hitmen to try and kill Batman. So we see the likes of Killer Croc, Bane, Copperhead and Deathstroke enter the fray – all intent on Batman’s downfall. And, taking advantage of the mayhem, a new super-villain makes his presence known: as the Joker.

It’s a very good game – and lots of fun to play. While there’s lots of fighting (which could get somewhat repetitive), there’s plenty of detective work involved. Visually, the game looks superb. And the music is excellent. The voice-work is good (although, using different actors than in the other games in the series, it takes a while to get accustomed to who’s speaking). Even though this game was made a different studio, it does really interconnect in so many ways – in terms of story development – with the Rocksteady games. As for me, I consider this a quadrilogy of Batman adventures.

This Collector's Edition is an excellent item - but unfortunately it doesn't come with all the additional content that is available for the game (e.g. the Black Mask challenge pack, and the Mr Freeze story-based campaign expansion). There is a 'Complete Edition' that includes all DLC's ... While I think this Collector's Edition is great, it ought to have included everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This game could and should have been a lot better. With different game developers to the other games in the batman arkham series this game does suffer for it. With bugs and game sometimes freezing it can be annoying. There are some good additions like new villains such as Black Mask. The story is quite good if a little bit of a let down. For the price and all the things you get in this collector's edition the price is worth it/ The statue alone that comes with this set is brilliant and would cost the price of his if you was to buy it from the shop. Would recommend this for any Batman fans and some of the arkham game series. Just be aware if you are expecting it to be as good as Batman Arkham City you will be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
LOVE IT!! The statue is awesomely detailed! To add to the statue you also get case files of all of the villains in the game. And you also get an art book and steel case. The steel case has a 3d effect on it which looks very cool.
The box also has a nice look. Joker is made up of bats and batman is made up of the bad guys. That small detail makes it look that little bit cooler. Any batman fan will enjoy the statue of batman and joker. The art book is also great to have a look at. It's a must buy. Especially now that the price has gone down. Overal I think I paid £30-£40 for a new one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
This collectors edition is amazing, so worth £40. The statue is so well detailed and hand painted its the pride and joy of my room.

Batman book is very well made, looks and feels expensive pages are thick and interesting to read.

The game tin is limited edition and has a lot of bonus dlc codes that I didn't expect which is a bonus, and now to the secret folder I can't say much about it because on the front it has a warning saying (DON'T OPEN UNTIL GAME IS FINISHED) so have to wait abit.

Overall an fantastic collectors edition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I wasn't convinced this game would be any good with it being a prequel and all, but boy was I wrong! Game play is great, story is great, voices are great. The collectors edition pack is very very good. The statue is amazing and I have it on display and the case file are a nice touch. Good old PlayStation gets the exclusive skins as well so win win!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
It's very hand to compete with a game that many say is the Best Batman game of all time!, What the new development team have produced is a game that honours the last two games but expands technologies that made the other two games fantastic.

My only issue with Batman: Arkham Origins is that it feels over recycled and I sometimes feel that the developer was too scared to take risks and create a new experience that separated Arkham Asylum and City.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I'll try to keep this review brief:

Collector's edition bonus content:
- The statue is amazing a great height, amazing detail and also it is brilliantly coloured.
- The assassin's dossier is probably the worst part of the set but still a nice addition.
- The art book is great for the casual fan and if you are a fan of behind the scene information and the work of Jim Lee and Geoff Johns.
- The steel case for the game looks good and makes the product classy.

Game content:
This is why the game only got 4 stars
- The map is very similar to Arkham City which is useful for finding this but makes the game feel a bit repetitive.
- I have noticed a few issues with freezing and frame rate which makes the game less enjoyable.
- The fact Gotham is empty although explained within the plot, means that unlike Arkham City there are no civilians in the streets which is a shame as that would have been an interesting dynamic.
- The game play is similar to the previous Arkham games so if you liked them you will most probably like Arkham Origins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here