Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2015
A collection of the great detectives adventures. Brilliant classic fiction. Great value. Five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
The "ultimate collection"? It's not even complete! The whole of the last volume of stories is missing.

Even worse, it's shockingly badly edited. Everything that should be in italics is either in CAPITALS, or written _like this_. Both are really irritating and unnecessary. Some of the illustrations (which are crucial to several of the stories) are included, but many are missing, with marks like "XXX" to indicate where the slapdash and lazy editor meant to insert them but forgot. There are typos and odd little editorial proof notes that should never have made it to the final version. It's as if they got bored halfway through putting it together.

Unbelievably shoddy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Just finished the first story - a study in scarlet. It finished early - without the explanation from Holmes - won't be trying anymore stories and will think carefully about buying any more kindle books - pity
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Having read the entire collection of Sherlock Holmes stories about 60 years ago, it was good to renew their acquaintance. The short stories are just the right length for a read in bed. And for £0.77 download? What a bargain!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Having been a life-long fan of the Sherlock Holmes stories I could not resist the idea of always having them available on my mobile. Whether you want to immerse yourself in a novel (any of the long stories) or fill in time waiting for a train with a short story, the variety of plots will always surprise. I am just as gripped by the horror of "The Speckled Band" now as I was at the age of twelve and now, as an adult I see the humour and appreciate the friendship and mutual respect between the main characters, which has not always come across in dramatisations. The stories endure, and always will.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
If you have never read any Sherlock stories then this is for you all you could ever want from the master detective
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
If you're somebody like me, who wants the satisfaction of knowing you've read everything Sherlock Holmes and can now discuss it well with others - read this completely. If not, I would strongly advise that you read the novels, and most well-known short stories and leave the rest. You would be quite satisfied having done so, as reading everything is not really necessary and became a slight chore near the end!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
I already had a hardback of all the short stories which I read every now and again even though I've read them all several times before. I wanted this as it contained the novels. I've enjoyed reading those and still found myself rereading some of the short stories. Nice and easy to navigate on my kindle fire device. Some interesting extra information at the end and links to free audio recordings which I may try next. I'm a Sherlock fan (not fanatical but enjoyed these from being a teenager) so it was always going to work for me. Happy with my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Highley recommend this book for all fans of Sherlock holmes. I'm still reading it now and am so enjoying it.
It's a giant of a book with many hours of reading a really good fireside read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse