Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2013
I've built up a bit of a collection of books of this kind, because although all the basic information is duplicated, they all have intersting hints, tips and ideas. This one is illustrated with freehand sketches rather than photographs for some reason (production methods? cost?), but they do have the merit of being easy to see (photos sometimes come out a bit grey on grey).
One caveat: I'm a little uneasy about the writer's suggestion you can safely connect an LED between one of the output pins and ground without a dropper resistor: I have a strong suspicion he's thinking of the sort that include their own resistor, so they can safely be used across anything up to 5V - but he doesn't actually say so.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I bought this book because it claimed to show how to interface a webcam to the Raspberry Pi. First attempt failed, asked for help on the book's website and surprise surprise, got a response! In the meantime, suspecting problems with the operating system, did an update and upgrade and then the installation worked. Can get video and stills from webcam and interface it with Python. Great stuff!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
This book is the perfect accompaniment for someone new to the Raspberry Pi (like me) and similar computer projects. You will need to be comfortable with computers in general, but if you're, say, happy installing software on your standard Windows machine, you'll be fine.

The book covers basic setup and peripherals, up to starting simple programming in Python, Scratch, and setting up a simple file server.

Overall, it's a great starting point for your journey with the Pi.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
I got this for my KIndle so that I could work on the Raspberry and follow instructions which are very clear and easy to read. LIke most books on the pie there is there are are start up instructions, programming in Python and Scratch; but the best parts are interfacing the pie with the Arduino, using inputs and outputs, attaching web cams, setting up a web server ect. If you have a black and white Kindle think about reading this book on your PC or get the hard copy as screen shots are not very clear on older Kindles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
gave me all the confidence and knowledge needed to get started. Very good book. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to start with RaspberryPi
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
The content of the book for this target audience is probably about right, I am someone who likes to tinker with things to learn and then go off on my own track and this book arms you with enough knowledge to do that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Before ordering a PI for my son to play with we ordered two books to help him get basic understanding of the Pi and what it can and can't do.
Have been a fan of Make books before and this is in line with their other publications. It does tend to go off into the technical side as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
My 11 year old son was so desperate for this. For oldies it's a bit like the old commodore vic 20. Great fun with coding and budding Bill Gateses will thoroughly enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
An excellent, readable and very practical publication. Some passages are quite technical for a novice but step by step advice is very reliable and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Well written with a clear concise description of RasPi hardware and top level description of Linux. Highly recommend to anyone starting out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)