Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
I bought this as I am replacing all my Eagles albums with cd's. If your getting into the Eagles this is as good a place to start as anywhere else, then buy them chronologically. Great debut album from a band who were destined for huge world success.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Both sides of the vinyl are labelled as side 2. Some kind of manufacturing error.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
The re-issue sounds amazing. I've bought lots of Rhino (Warner) re-releases over the years and think they deserve a lot of credit for offering good quality products at reasonable prices. I'm not sure if this is an analogue re-issue but if it isn't it sounds great anyway. the pressing is excellent, and the music is great as you probably already know. the re-issue is not bright at all which I tend to find with a lot of them nowadays. they brighten up the sound to make details more obvious, but I prefer a relaxed sound, with the instruments present in the recording but not smacking you in the face all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2001
If you're not a yet HUGE Eagles fan, but perhaps own one of their collections and are considering expanding upon this by purchasing one of their original studio albums, then the first thing that sprang to mind was probably Hotel California. Well, each to his or her own of course, but I for one think that, good though their last 3 (and most popular) albums were, it's the first 3 that are the real gems. The first 3 albums contained the original lineup of band members, which were Bernie Leadon and Randy meisner, in addition to Don Henley, Glen Frey, and Don Felder who joined them during the making of On The Border. In my view, although the lyrics in the early music aren't as good and intricate as some of the content found later, penned mainly by Henley, the band was just perfectly balanced, and if anything, I'd have to say that I'd rate the Leadon and Meisner songs above the Henley and Frey songs (it's a close call though). The band were simply much more melodic back then, and every song was just perfectly arranged and executed. I've been listening to their music since I was about 7 years old, and it's the early music which I love best. It may not be the most popular, but if only people would delve a litle deeper I'm sure they would have the same opinion as me.
22 Comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
At first glance there are only three tracks worthy of note on this debut album from the Eagles; 'Take it easy', 'Witchy Woman' and 'Peaceful easy feeling'. Let's face it, has anyone heard any of the other tracks on the radio ? True, those three aforementioned tracks are excellent examples of the country flavoured West Coast sound that the Eagles so readily grabbed and made their very own with exquisite harmonies rounded off by some very distinctive guitar work - the instrumental break in 'Peaceful easy feeling' being a good case in point.

However, on closer inspection there are a couple of other gems to be found on here. 'Most of us are sad' a beautiful ballad written by Glenn Frey is sung to great effect by the often forgotten Randy Meisner. The song is unusually in 3/4 time but it works so well and there is a sumptuous instrumental break and some fine harmonising by the band. The other great song is the Bernie Leadon co-written 'Train leaves here this morning' which again features lush harmonies and a great instrumental break.

What's left ? Well a couple of substandard songs 'Nightingale' and Early Bird' the latter which features an irritating twittering whistle sound and is not one of Bernie Leadons high points. Plus Randy Meisners brooding 'Take the Devil' and positively rocking 'Tryin' and Glenn Freys OK rocker 'Chug all night'.

All in all a very uneven debut with half the album being in the superb bracket and the other half ranging from OK to not-so-OK. I'd recommend the soft-cover cd edition of this release which folds out to a mini album sleeve (although annoyingly the band photo from the original back cover is missing replaced by a dark shot taken in a cave by firelight). The sound quality on this release is superb.

The running time is a minor gripe and at just over 37 minutes could easily have included the B-side to 'Take it easy' - a Frey composition called 'Get you in the mood'.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
I don't think this review will help those looking for the technical detail / comments. I just want to say that I've enjoyed the Eagles music since I first heard them some 30 years ago. I didn't have the album on CD so it was a must buy. In typical Amazon fashion, the price was right, the turn around was prompt and the package arrived during the anticipated delivery dates.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Finally decided to complete our Eagles collection with their first album. Incredible to think that there are songs on this so enduring and beloved that the guys still play them live today. However, it's the lesser-known songs that attracted us, having heard them for the first time when BBC4 recently broadcast the 1973 concert - 'Train Leaves Here ...' and 'Earlybird', tracks sung and part-written by the too-little mentioned Eagle and our favourite, Bernie Leadon. The version of 'Train ...' on the record seems rather muted and laidback compared to the live one but it's a beautiful, lilting song nevertheless. But there are other jewels too - Randy's 'Take the Devil', surprisingly vehement, an example of what Glenn Frey now calls their satanic country rock period and Glenn's own melancholic and sensitive 'Most of Us Are Sad', simple and all the better for it. 'Chug All Night' admittedly is rock by numbers, a little too Status Quo for me but all in all, an excellent purchase, and it allows you to hear those songs now considered classics, 'Take It Easy', 'Peaceful Easy Feeling' and 'Witchy Woman' in their original context.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
This was Eagles' first album, in their original country rock style. To me, it's also their most enjoyable sound - soft ballads, bluesy numbers and kicking tunes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
The first Eagles album, isn't one of their best but it does include some fine material such as the single Take it Easy which was co written by Jackson Browne and Witchy Woman. It illustrates the quality of playing and vocal harmonies of the group which would go on to be even more intricate and heavier in later releases as they developed their sound.

The story goes the producer, Glyn Johns was looking for a softer more acoustic based band to produce having worked with the Stones and The Who. Upon hearing the Eagles for the first time he wasn't that impressed however he was persuaded back to hear them again and after hearing them sing acoustically agreed to produce them.

Each of the band members has a go at song writing. Although its interesting to note the singles were all by Fey/Henley. That said Randy Meisner has a good vocal in Most of us are Sad. but I don't like his Tryin as I'm not sure it fits with the rest. Bernie Leadon country/acoustic/bluegrass influences also shine through here to with ' Train Leaves here this Morning '. ' Chug all night ' would have made a good b-side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)