Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2013
The team of editors who put these collections together hardly ever put a foot wrong from my perspective. The Time Travel book is a very welcome addition to the series. At these prices, the series is well and truly on my "best buy" list. If you are a SF fan and haven't tried these corrections, I urge you to do so.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 July 2013
Another enticing offer from Wildside Press, again at a bargain basement price. The editor(s) has explored the whole gamut of time travel possibilities, from Buck Rogers' traditional shoot 'em up original ('Armageddon 2419 A.D.') to the opening, novella-length story ('Time Out') set in these times of austerity. Some warn of the unexpected consequences of time travel, some humorous, but some very dark. Bleakest of all is the story of a man doomed to live in a 'groundhog day' scenario, living the same hour of his life over and over again in an unending sequence ('12.01 P.M.'). 'Try, try, again' counters this with the prospect of time travel offering unlimited opportunities to get the future 'right' the next time round.

The jewel of the collection comes from Kornbluth, a talented writer who died young, in a cautionary tale of a man who uses 'time travel' to gull his victims, with an unexpected denouement ('Time Bum'). I enjoyed also Richard Lupoff's attempt to end H G Wells' Time Traveller's journey in an interesting, and highly appropriate way.

A good kindle version, spiced with Grendel Brianton's short-shorts, with one or two typos around the 29% mark. And no, there are no formatting errors in Nolan's 'Of Time and Texas'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
There are three timetravel magapacks and I suggest getting all three if you are a time travel fiction fan. This collection contains a few well known stories a few old but average ones and some "undiscovered" gems. Well worth the price.

A good editing job and hours of fun reading. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
I enjoyed every one. The older ones more than the newer ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
only had to skip one. seem like post ww2 type stories. Never mind the quality, feel the width ( lots of words per £)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
The first story in this collection alone is more than worth the asking price of this collection. I would call it a short novel, I guess about 30,000 to 50,000 words. Nice, clear, easy reading, good plot, great stuff. Second story shorter but just as well written. I'm about to start on the third!

Recommended. Basically you are paying a tiny amount for the convenience of having stories of a type being compiled together (some might be free elsewhere but you'd have to search around for each one separately and they might not be Kindle-compatible!) So if you like time travel fics, you'll like these. Seriously good value!

Note: The title cover within the book appears to be wrong and does not match the title displayed here or in the Kindle Library view. Nice pic though and no problem.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Fascinating subject Time Travel with its what ifs. Here we have a mix of old and new stories some from before we had proper flight yet alone gone into space. Enjoyed the puns, reminded me of the humour of Asimov. However, Buck Rogers was not a 'time traveller' in that he was propelled through time by a device but arrived in the future after being in a coma or suspended animation for 500 years. Still his adventures are good considering the time in which they were written.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
This is a really enjoyable, well selected collection of stories from a wide range of writers and eras. The only reason It doesn't get five stars are the too numerous typing errors and the credits list bears only a passing resemblance to the contents with too many omissions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This has some of the best time travel stories I have ever read, both for imagination and internal consistency.

My only dislike was that some of the entries were half page joke culminating in a cheap pun. However, these only made up one or two half pages.

Would highly recommend to anyone.I would also recommend H Beam Piper as an author to anyone who enjoys these. His work is in the open domain but you can get them all in one place from anther mega pack, which is incidentally how I found this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
for the price this kindle book is good value, even if you have read some of the stories there is bound to be plenty of others out of the 25 that will be new to you . a good mix of old and new and a cheap way to try out authors fresh to you
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse