Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2016
Very honest and at types moving account of the life of a gay man in the army.

It was said to read that his marriage to Thom broke down after a few years as the 2 seemed to make a good couple once they had got back together the first time around.

Interesting read all round
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
A truly inspirational book by a brave individual. His insight into the inner-workings of the army in general was fascinating, let alone his story of coming out which was surprising, sad, and uplifting in equal measure.

A great book, by a great guy (plus he's hot hot hot!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Beautifully written. James second chance meeting with Thom which sees them rekindle their relationship was difficult for me to read and tinged with melancholy as that was something I would have liked for myself but I never met anyone since my own break up 10 years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I wasn't sure I'd be interested in a book about life in the army, but this was a gripping read and I couldn't put it down. Huge respect to James for writing about his inspirational journey, and also to all those in the army and elsewhere who supported him along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
A refreshingly honest book, written in a very readable way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Well worth a read, it written from the heart in places, I'm not a fan of the armed services at all as i work with a couple of ex army guys who bang on about how great it, but this gives a real impression of the army with support and also bullying etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
He is a great writer and being in my 70's and having lived through times when being gay was illegal and then through years of homophobia I very much related to his story. We need more like him to stand up and be counted. Well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
AN INTERESTING READ .HOWEVER FOR EVERY 'OUT' SOLDIER THERE ARE 20 WHO JUST LIKE GAY SEX AND ARE BASICLY STRAIGHT WITH FAMILIES.THIS BK DOSNT MENTION THE SUBCULTURE OF HOMOSEXUALITY IN SENIOR RANKS IN THE MILITARY .WHICH IS TRADITIONAL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
As an ex Soldier myself who so happened to be gay. I was lookimg forward to see what Mr Wharton had to say about the British Army I have to say I like his book on the whole how easy it is to be drawn to London scene with its
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Informative, authentic and honest. Gave me a complete different understanding of the implications involved being a gay man/woman in the army, as well as how much work still needs to be done to reach a true level of equality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)