Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Iv
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
21
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
While it is not as strong with Steven Wilson as everyone says, I was still pleasantly surprised that it was better than I had expected. And it still fits the Blackfield formula as far as I'm concerned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
This is the Blackfiled IV which is actually the fifth. The live album does not count? Not a bad album, but for those who already know other albums may have been disappointed. The serenity of the songs continue, but there is nothing exceptional, perhaps this is the main problem. It is a small album with duration close to 33 minutes and the last track does not lack. The disc has the lowest participation of Steven Wilson and this may be the reason for not cause surprises. Aviv did not take and leadership at all. Lacked enthusiasm. The fifth track is the second worst of the disc and the others are good. There is an exceptional album, but it's not to take away. Far from it! Reasonable. Note 6.5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I can not understand how people judge this album by its short duration or because steven wilson no longer include the songs. I think they are irrational prejudices of some people and that predisposes many listeners negatively.

It is a magnificent album full of amazing songs with excellent sound and also available on DVD Audio 5.1 sound. There are some wonderful songs with melodies difficult to find in most of the discs. It is a varied but full of epic moments and technically very well executed album.

I agree that the duration of the album and the songs are short and it's a shame that these compositions do not last longer, because only last 2 or 3 minutes is a short time to enjoy such good songs. It could have lengthened and thus enjoyed more, but certainly that is a huge cd as recognized by the music press.

Congratulations!!!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Blackfield have made some great albums, with terrific melodies, unfortunately this isn't one of them. Just over 30 minutes its a bit of a rip off, but the song quality is also poor. I think a few songs might grow on me, but I won't be buying Blackfield V without a really long hard listen.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
OK so I've followed Blackfield from the start like Porcupine Tree. Their first album was great, and they followed it up with their second even stronger album. However, there was a marked decline in my opinion with Welcome To My DNA, and now we have this rather bland album which to me has so any influences throughout it - Sense Of Insanity could almost be Coldplay apart from the sound of the vocals; Faking is faking Snow Patrol; the short The Only Fool Is Me could be Mercury Rev (OK so it has Donahue on vocals but it's the whole feel of the track).

The songs have all the right noises but throughout the whole album I felt as though the tracks were reminiscent of something else, although some of the lyrics are bizarre!

All in all I was left disappointed and I fear that this will be the last Blackfield album I purchase. It is not very good value either coming in at under 32 mins which for modern albums is exceptionally short - perhaps this illustrates a lack of ideas.

The packaging is a standard plastic box with yet another superfluous cardboard slipcase (WHY???). There is an eight page useless booklet unless you like uninteresting photos.

Can't see this album being played very much whereas Blackfield &Blackfield II still get regular plays.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Well here it is, the last stand for a band I once thought I would buy anything they produced without having to first hear the album, Steven Wilson is that good, but alas, this is not a Steven Wilson album, infact his imput is pretty minimal, and it shows. This is an Aviv Geffen album disguised as a Blackfield album, and perhaps the last I will ever purchace. On `The Raven that Refused to Sing` Steven Wilson solo album there is a track which sounds like the old Blackfield, so I guess thats were all the talent headed and so will I. Goodbye Blackfield, was fun, but......
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Blackfield IV is a very skimpy 31 minutes or so of niceness - nothing particularly offensive, but certainly nothing to get at all worked up about. Blackfield appear to have settled for a forumla they're happy with - very short melodic pop that you can have on in the background while doing something else. The inclusion of Messrs Cavanagh, Anderson and Donahue at least offers a change in vocal sound, if nothing else.

There isn't a bad song on IV; thing is, there's not a really good one, either. It's just nice. Hence my three stars - it's okay. Welcome to My DNA is better, and Blackfield I and II are streets ahead. If you're new to the band and want to check them out, do yourself a favour and check the earlier stuff, first.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Blackfield is something of a side project for Porcupine Tree main-man Steven Wilson. Blackfield, the band (?) is a conglomeration of artists mostly headed by Aviv Geffen with assistance from the said Mr Wilson, so it would be wrong to expect a Porcupine Tree album. Indeed at just over 30 minutes its very short and one should not expect the sprawling progressive epics one might yearn for. In fact, the songs are simple, sometimes whimsical light-hearted affairs with little evidence Mr Wilson's typical input.
The album is very listenable but ultimately thats' its probable downfall. Its too lightweight. Too easy on the ear. Too simple. Too run of the mill. It has a light-weight predictability that offers little new or refreshing and for these reasons makes it my least favorite of their 4 studio and one live release.
Get Blackfield II if you're a newcomer to this band.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Very disappointed with this.
Some songs sound like older material and others are just dreary with backdrops of sprawling noise.
PT are great so are first 3 blackfield albums but this is just fillers at best.
bought it - played it several times and then gave up - now in glove compartment
Failure
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
I was looking forward to this after the excellent first three Blackfield albums but after a few listens to this now I have to say it is disappointing. It's pleasant, there are some nice melodies and arrangements, but very little spark. All the tracks are less than 4 minutes long and at times I just was left feeling that the songs could have been developed further - I'm not after epics but the 5-6 minute mark would have been good. If you have Aviv Geffen's English language album that will give you a pretty good idea of what you are getting. It's not rock in any way. I would describe it as melancholic pop. Better than that vast majority of dross that clogs up the charts these days but given the high standards that Blackfield set themselves, it's pretty lightweight and nowhere near the class of Steven Wilson's most recent solo album. Still - if you have the other Blackfield albums it's worth a go, if you haven't start with the earlier stuff!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)