Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
Don't make the same mistake that I did. These really are, for me, a great series of books, great yarns and well worth reading. I have them all. This particular issue however is only part 1 of book one. The other "book one" of the series is the one to get. I originally bought this (192 pages) and then had to buy the other one (509 pages) to get the full story, including Wolf Sword and Sworn Lord. Only a Pound I know but still I think a bit of a con. Wonder how many other readers have done this. If you want to, better to get a Kindle sample, I think they're free. Hence the award of only 2 stars for this particular book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Brilliant read, gripping from the start, this is book three which can be read on it's own so be aware. I did read this book first, then read books 1 & 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
history come to life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Great action blended with well researched historical fact. a true rival to authors such as Conn iggulunden and Bernard cornwell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Great start to a new series. Looking forward to the next book. Well done David Gilman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Loved every minute of reading this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
I will certainly be reading more by David Gilman. If medieval warfare is your thing then you really should try this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on par with Bernard Cornwell and conn iggulden in historical fact based fiction couldn't put it down can't wait for part 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
The test of a good book is the question "Did I enjoy it?" and, in this case the answer is a definite "Yes". Hence four stars. The rest is just observation from one reader's perspective (mine).

I found this book to be engaging and engrossing; I really wanted to read on to see what happens next. The pace is just right and the battle scenes are among the best I've ever read. The main character is well founded and his growth from callow boy to seasoned warrior progresses beautifully. Although other reviewers have criticised the accuracy of some of the detail (there's no such thing as a 'short bastard sword' or 'chain mail') I found almost all of the minute detail of life in this period spot on and fascinating. This period in history is a particular hobby of mine and I was delighted to see so many of the historical facts not only very accurately relayed here, but also in a manner that draws out the political complexity of the era (the Channel didn't stop anyone from claiming sovereignty in either England or France).

The book may suffer from an unfair comparison. Bernard Cornwell's 'Grail Quest' series, with Thomas Hookton as the main character, tells a very similar story (in fact, VERY similar!) and, of course, that is Bernard Cornwell and so is utterly masterful The similarities are very striking (Thomas Hookton / Thomas Blackstone !!!) and David Gilman, unsurprisingly, doesn't fare well in such comparison. Bernard Cornwell's hero suffers a debilitating injury to his fingers that looks as though he will never again draw a bow, but he recovers almost to his original standard though sheer grit. At the end of Mr Gilman's book, Thomas has suffered a similar injury which, we are told, means that he will 'never draw a war bow again'. Hmm, let's see but, a warning to Mr Gilman, if, in the next book, Thomas recovers through sheer grit to be almost as good as he previously was, I can see a claim of plagiarism heading your way. But if you compare every book that you read to the absolute best in the genre, then just about everything you read will disappoint. In this case, I'm very happy to set any comparison aside and to simply consider Master of War in its own right; it's very good indeed.

OK, there a few, pretty minor, gripes. Thomas Hookton is just that bit too good to be true. I might be able to accept his shining honour and his incomparable skills as an archer, but we see every single arrow shot hit its mark, even in the turmoil of battle; reality was never like that. Thomas's involvement close to the heart of power is a bit contrived, as is the love interest that seems to have been shoehorned in ("Oh yeah, we'd better have a damsel in distress"). And , for me, there was one glaring error that cropped up over and over again that really irritated me, mainly because I am certain that Mr Gilman knows the facts but just didn't want that inconvenience spoiling getting in the way of rhetoric. That is the absolutely known and proven fact that arrows, even when bodkin tipped, almost never pierced plate armour. At the very best, when shot from less than 20m and at poor quality armour, an arrow might, just, pierce the plate armour but it wouldn't carry on through the padding below (the gambeson). It might bruise, but it couldn't kill. In this book, French knights are killed in their droves by arrows passing right through their armoured bodies. At both the battles of Crecy and Azincourt (which Mr Gilman incorrectly expresses as Agincourt, again, I imagine, to salve popularism), it is known that the French died as a result of the ground on which the battle was fought and the English practice of killing the horses. Men were, actually, killed once on the ground by knife or war hammer, not by arrows. That the sheer weight and volume of arrows in the air was a factor is undeniable (like standing, naked, 10m away from 20 people all firing paint balls at you) but it didn't kill many of those in armour.

One other, very minor, irritation lay in the names. Throughout, there are two Blackstone brothers and our main hero is Thomas. Instead of referring to the hero as 'Thomas', the author refers to him as 'Blackstone'. This probably wouldn't have been noticeable but for the frequent references to 'Blackstone's brother' but, of course, they are both 'Blackstones' so such reference could also refer to Thomas himself. We, the reader, have an emotional connection to Thomas Blackstone who is, after all, a sympathetic character, so referring to him as 'Thomas' would have been appropriate and less jarring.

But those things only annoy me because I'm a geek and, overall, this is still a really good novel. I will, certainly, buy the next in this series and you should too.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Gilman has me hooked. Reminds me of Cornwell's Harlequin series but I loved the way the story evolved and can't wait for the next in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse