Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 October 2017
Easy to read,a good predictable tale with a lot of convenient encounters where everybody seems to know everybody and Scotland feels like it's the size of the isle of Man near the end without trying to spoil the story for others why was Emogene so set on killing Corbula and Marcus because they knew the secret hiding place of the Amber stash when a ships captain and his crew and also 4 members of the Decantae tribe also knew its whereabouts.Will read second book in series but only because I brought book one and two on kindle for my holiday and have nothing else to read hopefully I'm more impressed by number two as the basis for the series is a little bit different from other Roman novels I have read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Very well thought out book. One man trying to find his son eventually being tracked by a demented caledonian woman. Looking forward to book 2
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Easy reading. No great depth in characters probable because book is part of a series.
Interesting juxtaposition of time as author moves from character to character.
I won't be reading anymore but thats not to say the series will not develop more depth as it progresses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
Excellent read - could not put the book down. I full recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
I love Kelso's historical novels. Well researched with brilliant characters inhabiting his story telling. This is no exception. Little known Scottish history interwoven with Roman history. Great book and thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Once you get started on Kelso's Veteran of Rome series you'll be compelled to keep reading them. Interesting and enjoyable storyline with a good mixture of Roman and Scottish history and tradition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
great read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Good page turner with twists and turns and as a fan of Roman oriented fiction (based on actual events) would be inclined to read the rest of the saga.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I've read Simon scarrow, Robert Fabbri and Ben kane. These books are now on my must-read list. Good story and action, almost finished the second book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
An action packed journey through the landscape of early Roman Britain. I could not put this book down (except to sleep). Will certainly be reading the authors other books
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse