Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
89
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2014
When you are watching your weight it is always good to find something different to cook that wont spoil your diet. This book has sections for under 200, 300, 400 and 500 calories and has tasty dishes for a normal healthy diet if you are trying to loose weight or not
I would recommend it
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Good health recipes would recommend for people trying to eat healthier good range of dishes meat fish veg etc..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Great book , good recipes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
i really like the good food series, as an amateur cook, the recipes both challenge and inspire me and with a nutritional tag on each recipe i can easily keep up with my healthy eating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
There is nothing ground-breaking in this book, as many of the recipes are based on well-tried combinations of ingredients, but it does live up to its promise of providing tasty, simple and filling meals which are also healthy. As well as hearty favourites, there are recipes inspired by different culinary traditions. Each recipe has a colour illustration and I liked that the portion sizes seemed more generous than is the norm, and this suited us because we normally find portion sizes too small.

Some recipes do require a well-equipped and well-stocked kitchen which can bump the cost up of certain meals, but most of the time it is possible to get round this by adapting recipes, e.g. using different-sized receptacles, different cuts of meat or omitting non-essential ingredients (e.g. fresh herb garnishes).

Most recipes are quick to make but one star was docked because some took longer than stated. In addition, there were some disappointments: I found one of the recipes duplicated in my 2013 copy of GF 'Stir Fries & Quick Fixes' (Chicken with Mushrooms recipe) (which left me wondering if other GF books in the range have duplicated recipes) and not all the recipes were as successful. The 'Minced Beef with Sweet Potato Stew' and 'Chicken with Peppers and Butter Beans' both had watery sauces (the sauces were reduced and a few store-cupboard ingredients added which rectified the problem).

As others have commented, the tendency of the pages to flick back is annoying (small magnetic book markers helped me to relocate my recipes quickly). Despite this, at just under £4, and containing 100+ recipes, this book would be a useful addition to the kitchen of busy cooks, especially those with children. Those looking for fresh ideas or highly innovative cuisine are advised to look elsewhere.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
Good book. Lots of lovely recipes which you can adapt for one or two or four people. The photographs are enticing and it is well laid out into sections. The recipes are tasty and easy to make which is what you want. Worth the money and a perfect size.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
It is a handy size, easy to follow and plenty of choice. Something in it for everyone. The others that I ordered with it were all good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Lots of interesting healthy recipes to choose from. Easy to follow with nutritional breakdown of each dish. Would recommend for people wishing to provide healthy meals for their families
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Good little book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
It's actually the best one from the whole serie, meat can be quite easy replaced, all is simple, fresh and tasty. It's really worth buying.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)