Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
I love all the characters in the Blanding books, and the cast for the tv series are all excellent choices for the roles. With an array of guest stars, this series is both fun and funny.

Blandings Castle books are one of favourite my Wodehouse series.

Episodes include:

Pig-Hoo-o-o-o-ey.

The Go-Getter.

Company For Gertrude.

The Crime Wave at Blandings.

Lord Emsworth and the Girl Friend.

Problems with drink.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
FANTASTIC! ALONG THE JEEVES AND WOOSTER STYLE OF HUMOUR!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
very good laugh out loud job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Bought as gift & recipient delighted with quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
HILLARIOUS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
I can see why some people don't like these series. The fans of the original works of PG Wodehouse found it as a 'blasphemy' to turn it into slapstick comedy in some part, while the slapstick comedies fans found the series come with a rather hard-to-digest-literature-english words. So it mostly targeting the market which is in-between-audience.

To enjoy the series what you have to do is stop comparing it to the literature works, just take it as it is, do not expect too much or you will be disappointed. As for the slap-stick fans, well, keep dictionaries and literature words book handy at all times while watching.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Take no notice of the bad reviews, this is marvellous.. Timothy Spall is great, and Mark Williams is priceless as Beech, the butler. His facial expressions leave speech unnecessary. When I've had a bad day, and I need cheering up, on goes Blandings. Works every time. Well packed and quick delivery make this seller, and the dvd, well recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
My husband was recommended to this film and frankly we had never heard of it before but he watched it and enjoyed it immensely.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
The Fry/Laurie version of "Jeeves and Wooster" took quite a few liberties with the books on which it was based, but it hardly mattered because the adaptation never strayed too far from the spirit of the original. "Blandings", on the other hand, is merely a crass, over-acted mess with no respect for either the author or the audience.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I know some people don't like this BBC production of Blandings, feeling it is not true to the Wodehouse's stories. In my experience, tv or film – or even radio plays – too true to written stories seldom make a good production, so I'll let that go.

What the BBC has ended up with is a very well-produced series that had me laughing out loud on several occasions. The characters are farcical caricatures that are interesting and charmingly predictable once you get to know them, and one does get to know them rather quickly through their idiosyncrasies, catchphrases and typical behaviour.

Casting appears to me to be spot on – perhaps not exactly the way they are portrayed in the book, but each actor owns their own character from the first episode, their acting choices consistently carried on through both series.

If you don't know the Wodehouse stories but enjoy farce and situational comedy as it can only be done in Britain – or if you know the stories and are willing to forgive or ignore any differences with the written word – this is highly entertaining, as it would be even on repeated viewings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)