Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
25
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2012
Savage Grace is a remarkable film, perfectly acted by Julianne Moore , young Eddie Redmayne & Stephen Dillane, but it is not for the faint-hearted.............. A true story,it lays bare the beauty & the ugliness of human relationships. There are brilliant scenes, some funny & joyous, some sad, one tragic. One strangely happy scene has mother & son in bed, with their shared lover between them.

Mother & son continue in their downward spiral to their sad, true end. Poor loves ; poor son. The sex scene between them is devastating, but necessary. There is sex in this film & none of it gratuitous. See it, but not with your sons.

By Susie...........a mother of sons.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Despite very bad reviews, I actually found this film very interesting as a psychological study of complex mother-son relationship. Jullianne Moore is brilliant as a neurotic actress married to a cold and extremely selfish businessman. A son born out of this loveless couple became a substitute lover of this woman. He was effeminate, weak, and spoilt rotten by his mother. The ending is shocking but predictable - the love between the mother and the son reached its climax, and it soon made a U-turn. "Love" consequently transformed itself into hatred. Tragedy ensued.

The last scene clicked in my head: when gay Tony had sex with his mother, especially at the moment he was about to come, his facial expression revealed something really complex – he seemed to have experienced intense pleasure, as well as disgust at the same time. He realised that his mother treated him like a retarded boy, that he was being used as a sex object. It was at that pivotal moment that his psychology and his whole being have changed direction.

All acting was good although the fake American accent by British actors are too noticeable to be missed. Even if some one does not like the subject of the film, it is still worth watching just for Julianne Moore's Class Act and fabulous locations in New York, Paris, Majorca, and London...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This impressively acted and directed film that deals in a highly explicit way with a range of sexual activity including incest amazingly has only a 15 certificate. As one reviewer had already stated it's NOT for the faint hearted OR family viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
Savage Grace. The Spanish financed Tom Kalin directed true story of Barbara Daly who married Brooks Baekeland (Stephan Dillane), hair to the Bakelite plastics fortune. Their only child (Eddie Redmayne) is a failure in his father's eyes, and as he grows up becomes increasingly close to his lonely mother (Julianne Moore) . Very George Bataille, very Ma Mere. Great sexually charged chemistry between the three leads. A very sensual movie beautifully filmed with an obvious European feel. My only criticism is that certain scenes should have been allowed to develop more.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
I have known about this true story for many years and at various times a series of writers have approached the subject and then withdrawn or found it too difficult. The story is horrid, be under no illusions and the tragic tale is almost Greek in its impact. Those who were bored by this film or failed to read the final heart reaching information miss the whole point. This is NOT Hollywood, this is not an over cooked drama, this is a true story.
There only remains to be said that the direction, visuals; especially the passing of time conveyed so subtly, and above all the acting holds a grip which is both emotional and discomforting. The film is at times a challenge since it does not flinch from the facts and the real relationships in any way.
Although the film is not new I have only just seen it having been very nervous about how the story could be conveyed. The answer turned out to be superbly, and if you want to watch superb acting and a deeply uncomfortable depiction of an incestuous and ultimately tragic true story then watch this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
What a shame the DVD of this film was censored. Ms Moore is more than capable of demonstrating the ranges of emotion, family turmoil, oppression and suspicion required in this film. Certain scenes were cut out, Why? I fail to see why we in the UK are continually monitored in this way. We are just a adult and sophisticated as the USA or our European partners. This is an excellent film dealing with a disfunctional family based primarily on a true story. The DVD was well worth the money despite what I have written previously which spoiled the pleasure somewhat. Will Ms Moore's film "Chloe" be similarly treated?
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2016
Tremendously acted? Yes. A bit slow-going and sometimes hard to watch? Also yes. This tale of social differences and affairs, love and incest sounds fascinating on paper, but in reality is not that exciting. Moreover, it is not even emotional. The most shocking part for me was the revelation that this was a true story.

But Julianne Moore and Eddie Redmayne are compelling to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
I didn't watch yet because in the product details were english, french and spanish like spoken languages and I thought it is dubbed, and it is not. It is spoken in english and some parts of dialogue in french or spanish. Any subtitle in spanish or french. So I need to find the perfect moment to watch in english and try to understand de most possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Not an easy watch but a worthwhile one I think. It certainly wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea and the acting can be a bit hit and miss at times. Cadaques is stunning by the way, well worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
A powerful and tragic film. A chilling but brilliant portrayal of a very sick woman by Moore. At times difficult to watch but compelling none the less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)