Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
I was expecting a more detailed look at this oft forgotten subject. Instead i thought it was mostly a rehash with not much new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I have to say that this book is well balanced and informative.The structure of the book is great well laid out and full of useful knowledge.If you want to know about the various nations and peoples who provided troops for the German effort in Russia this is the book for you evenly written it pulls no punches but seems fair in its dealings with each group, will be looking out for more English versions of this authors works.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Written by a German academic, this book describes the role of the non-German soldiers in the Wehrmacht on the Eastern front, in fact up to 33% of the Wehrmacht strength there. The topic has been largely buried as nobody wanted to own up to being on the losing side, and indeed the fate of many of them can indeed be described as "buried", as they were not treated well in many cases including those repatriated to Stalin's USSR.

Indeed, the role of the Soviet-era NKVD in "ethnic cleansing", mass-murder and deportations is acknowledged here, and was one of the factors in the major changes in countries and populations in Eastern Europe post-1945, even though it was largely ignored by the Western powers.

The book is rather more than just the role of "foreign" soldiers in the Wehrmacht and is a thought-provoking read. I would recommend it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I do wonder why there are so few good books on Hitlers allies, considering that, as this book explains, 1/3 soldiers serving on the Eastern front were not even German. From the courageous Fins and unlucky Italians down to the Bulgarians, all of the German allies are covered in short yet very informative chapters, explaining how they ended up on the German side and how their countries and the soldiers serving them ended the war.
Anyone who has interest in the German allies, whether they be Russians volunteers, Hungarians in the Honved or Western Europeans serving in the German armed forces, will find this book a valuable asset.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
This is clearly a well-written and well-researched book, and very informative. It is divided into three sections- Hitler's allies, neutrals/occupied, and enemies respectively- and within each, is divided country by country and then outlines the contributions soldiers from each country made to the Eastern Front. I was disappointed however, as I was really hoping for more personal stories- what motivated these soldiers, particularly those from countries that were not allied to the Reich? This was dealt with briefly- adventurism, , anti-semitism, anti-communism, etc but we never really heard from the soldiers themselves. I wanted to hear more from the lives of actual soldiers and what those who survived faced on their return home after Germany's defeat. Unfortunately this book focuses on a greater scale than the individual. It's very good at what it does, it just simply wasn't what I had hoped it would be.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Its clear that Mr Muller is not a native English speaker - but the book sheds light (even if incompletely) on a little known and rarely discussed area of WW2. It is outstanding for that reason - and only drops a star as it could do with a bit more detail in my opinion. Well worth the money - and should be essential reading for those examining WW2 on the German-Soviet front.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
An interesting perspective on a hidden area of the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
A very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Disappointing. I didn't feel there was anything new here, neither factual or analytic. I had expected more from such an important historian of the period. On the other hand, perhaps I have missed something fundamental, but I don't think so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Great product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.64

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)