Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2017
Dark Eden describes a culture born from ours, but one where time has turned technology into relics, stamped its mark on the language, and turned adult minds stagnant. People appear content to scrabble for survival in a world of dwindling resource, unwilling and unable to plan for any future.

Readers will want to know how people found themselves in this dark world, where cold seeps everywhere, even chilling the human spirit. There’s no mundane narration of the back story. The author depicts a piece of theatre, acting the ancient story out, showing how people stripped of technology strive to remember their past. What would have been a mundane rehash of events becomes a compelling, deeply moving scene.

Escape is down to the young, shown in convincing detail by Beckett, who refuse to accept the lack of future.

‘Dark Eden’ is an almost perfect piece of world building.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
One of my favourite books ever. I love the entire series and I really hope there will be more. I love the world Chris has created in Dark Eden, and I can't get enough of it. At times it's frustrating, but only because it's so true of the way we actually behave. Just read it. Trust me on this... and thank me later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
The story started off well with a chance of change and a bright new future. But John could have been a positive character and ended up being as bad as those that were left behind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
very enjoyable read! hopefully the next will be just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Great value for money second hand book. I'm still reading the book but the story sucked me straight in, an engrossing tale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Vividly written the author manages to create a vision of a different world, highly original and like nothing I've read before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
compelling and original! is sequel?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
This is great if you like stories where the author is writing a fictional history. No real excitement, but an interesting concept.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 January 2012
Eden is a planet without a sun. Instead, light is generated by Eden's humming trees and its strange animals. Scratching a living in one small area of the planet is a group of several hundred humans who are descended from two astronauts from Earth who settled on Eden approximately 160 years before. Five astronauts had landed but three left to try to make it back home. The remaining two, Tommy and Angela, stayed behind and in so doing became the mother and father, grandparents and great grandparents of every man, woman and child on Eden. Divided into different family groups, such as the Redlanterns, London and Brooklyn, the people wait for the astronauts to return and take them all back home to Earth. They have little but a shared mythology, a common memory handed down like Chinese whispers, to give them comfort. But as the years go by and no-one from earth has arrived, the youngsters, the New Hairs, led by John Redlantern, decide to turn an existence into a life.

Dark Eden is one of the most extraordinary novels I've read in quite a while. Almost immediately, the powers of Beckett's description and imagination have immersed the reader fully into this eerie, dark world which is both beautiful and menacing. Fierce leopards sing exquisitely before they strike, bats hang from trees with their arms folded, watching, bucks (like cattle) have lanterns growing on their heads. But the humans fare less well. Generations of inbreeding have created people with `batfaces' and `clawfeet'. Many babies die, especially boys. Language has degenerated, adjectives have been lost - now something is `cold cold' or `hot hot' and life centres around the stories told by Eldest about Tommy and Angela, their journey from Earth and the objects they left behind, such as Car, Plane, Rayed Yo and Lecky-trickity. With such a blinkered outlook, with no ideas allowed to develop, the outlook for the Family is bleak.

Dark Eden tells the story of what is nothing less than a revolution from a variety of perspectives, including that of John Redlantern, Tina Spikehair and other members of the Family and it's an interesting mixed bunch of commentators. This allows us to see the full ramifications of what is happening and how the changes strike to the core of absolutely everyone. How they react to it and cope with it is extremely moving.

The universe of Dark Eden is remarkable and its wonders are complemented by the language, which expands as our troop of New Hairs explore beyond the boundaries of what is known. The names of objects and creatures are literally fantastic. The whole concept, this new distant Eden with its many parallels to the biblical Eden, is gobsmacking. It raises a host of questions about faith and the answers aren't necessarily pleasant.

My admiration for Chris Beckett is enormous. Dark Eden is a significant piece of science fiction. It is captivating but I also found it very disturbing. The fate of the characters and their lot in life troubled me. I was surprised by how involved I felt with these people and their drive for survival. Likewise with the story of the astronauts, which lies like a shadow across the novel. It will be interesting indeed to see where Chris Beckett will take us next.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Its alright!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)