Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
28
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2014
This book sets out the main points in the debate about Richard III's character and deeds. However, the author's awful grammar and very bad writing got in the way of what she was trying to do, which was to set out the pros and cons in a neutral fashion, and I quickly I grew tired of the repeated 'we'll never know'. I was left with the feeling that I couldn't trust the scholarship of Patricia Collins and this will definitely go to the bottom of my Richard III reading list.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
I read the Kindle version. It could have done with more editing. The same things kept being repeated and there were too many typos. I didn't learn anything new from it, but others might, though the manuscript was a bit thin. People were changing cvolour of hair and eyes, that should definitely have been corrected. Easy to read but perhaps produced a bit too quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I LIKE OTHERS WERE BROUGHT UP THINKING THAT RICHARD 111 WAS THE VILLAN BUT IN FACT ACCORDING TO THIS BOOK, HE ACTUALLY DID A LOT OF GOOD AND CHANGED A LOT OF LAWS IN FAVOUR OF PEASANTS AS WELL AS THE GENTRY: EG: HE WAS THE ONE THAT INSTIGATED BAIL AND A PERSON WASN'T GUILTY UNTIL PROVEN: PLUS LAND LAWS: THE GENTRY COULD NOT TAKE AWAY PEASANTS LAND:
I ALSO HAD NO IDEA HE WAS MARRIED: HAD A CHILD AND THAT HIS WIFE QUEEN ANNE HAD BEEN HIS CHILDHOOD SWEETHEART:
IT WAS EXPLAINED IN THE BOOK THAT WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE WROTE WHAT THE TUDOR'S WANTED TO HEAR: ALSO THERE WAS NO PROOF THAT HE INSTIGATED THE DEATH OF HIS 2 NEPHEWS:
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Whether you know of Richard III through Shakespeare, Philippa Gregory or general history this is a good assessment of what we actually do know about the enigmatic king. It tackles the main Shakespearean points against him and showcases the contemporary sources without being too long a read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
There are, predictably, many new books on Richard III coming out at the moment - not all of which do much more than feed the authors' egos. This one however is a thoughtful and provocking one. It is also noteworthy for convincingly suggesting that Shakespeare's 'hunch-backed toad' actually referred to a current and unpopular Tudor politician rather than to the long-deceased King Richard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Well documented History wise, enjoyed the story once I had everyone in their respective Order/
Would recommend it as a worthwhile lesson in Old English History and explains how the Cousins war was so important n English History
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
The book literally lists King Richard's alleged crimes and the author, who has researched extensively, gives an outline and any evidence that makes Richard a suspect or not. Some of the alleged crimes seems suspect but others pure fantasy such as the murder of the last Lancastrian Prince of Wales, Prince Edward.. But at the end of the day, it's really up to the reader to decide for himself or herself if Richard is guilty or not. But in today's justice, one is innocent until 'proven' guilty in a court of law.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it tries very hard not to be biased in its telling. It has given me a good understanding of Richard lll and I wouldn't hesitate to recover it to other readers of history and historical figures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
I bought the book because I did not know much about Richard III. I watched the White Queen and did not understand, this part of history. The book explains about the finding of Richards bones in a Leicester car lot and the descriptions of his bones and wounds he received in battle. I found it interesting and easy to read. Being a Lancashire Lass, I now look on the red and white roses in a different light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, it is written in a question and answer form, and covers all the main points or king Richard. Would recommend it to anyone newly interested in the story of Richard 111
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse