Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
28
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2014
Having no preconceived thoughts I came with an open mind
Would recommend anyone wanting to weigh their own informed thoughts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Whether you know of Richard III through Shakespeare, Philippa Gregory or general history this is a good assessment of what we actually do know about the enigmatic king. It tackles the main Shakespearean points against him and showcases the contemporary sources without being too long a read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
This book sets out the main points in the debate about Richard III's character and deeds. However, the author's awful grammar and very bad writing got in the way of what she was trying to do, which was to set out the pros and cons in a neutral fashion, and I quickly I grew tired of the repeated 'we'll never know'. I was left with the feeling that I couldn't trust the scholarship of Patricia Collins and this will definitely go to the bottom of my Richard III reading list.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, it is written in a question and answer form, and covers all the main points or king Richard. Would recommend it to anyone newly interested in the story of Richard 111
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
There was nothing new in this book, but the issues were clearly set as were the pros and cons in each case. A reasonable overview of the arguments surrounding this monarch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I LIKE OTHERS WERE BROUGHT UP THINKING THAT RICHARD 111 WAS THE VILLAN BUT IN FACT ACCORDING TO THIS BOOK, HE ACTUALLY DID A LOT OF GOOD AND CHANGED A LOT OF LAWS IN FAVOUR OF PEASANTS AS WELL AS THE GENTRY: EG: HE WAS THE ONE THAT INSTIGATED BAIL AND A PERSON WASN'T GUILTY UNTIL PROVEN: PLUS LAND LAWS: THE GENTRY COULD NOT TAKE AWAY PEASANTS LAND:
I ALSO HAD NO IDEA HE WAS MARRIED: HAD A CHILD AND THAT HIS WIFE QUEEN ANNE HAD BEEN HIS CHILDHOOD SWEETHEART:
IT WAS EXPLAINED IN THE BOOK THAT WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE WROTE WHAT THE TUDOR'S WANTED TO HEAR: ALSO THERE WAS NO PROOF THAT HE INSTIGATED THE DEATH OF HIS 2 NEPHEWS:
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
A good unbiased account of Richard's life. I found it a very informative and fair account of his life. He remains a fascinating historical figure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I purchased this as a companion read to the BBC series 'The White Queen'. It added another perspective to this interesting period in history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
There are, predictably, many new books on Richard III coming out at the moment - not all of which do much more than feed the authors' egos. This one however is a thoughtful and provocking one. It is also noteworthy for convincingly suggesting that Shakespeare's 'hunch-backed toad' actually referred to a current and unpopular Tudor politician rather than to the long-deceased King Richard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
I read the Kindle version. It could have done with more editing. The same things kept being repeated and there were too many typos. I didn't learn anything new from it, but others might, though the manuscript was a bit thin. People were changing cvolour of hair and eyes, that should definitely have been corrected. Easy to read but perhaps produced a bit too quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)