Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
55
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2013
I first found White Lies when I was playing a Need For Speed Xbox game, I had never heard the song before and I looked it up on youtube and found it was called Bigger Than Us for the Ritual Album.
I have all the white lies albums now and was very excited when I found a new one had come out, I didn't expect Big T.V to be the best of the three Albums but there you go, perfect from start to end and it just goes to show the state of the music industry that no one has been advertising this more in the media because this distinctive band should be making more noise than they are.
If you like proper music with its own sound and cultured style please buy this album and for god sake spread the word.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
After their really good debut and a decent, but slightly underwhelming follow-up, White Lies release their third album which turns out to be their most melodic and atmospheric creation. Yes, these songs really are so huge there is no stadium that could hold them. But it's hard not to like them. They don't sound fake, at least to me. And moreover, the whole album maintains a good, if not very good, overall level. But it's definitely not for the die-hard fans of innovation, breaking of genre boundaries, experimentation and so on. It's very nostalgic, both in terms of its mood and its essence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
If you haven't listened to the White Lies before....I urge you to do it. Don't be expecting bouncy, tear-up-the-place type of music, because you won't get it. They make songs, songs with great lyrics. They've got some absolute belting tunes on this album as well, to follow on from their other two crackers. This is a bit more uplifting than the second, and maybe a bit more poppy. It works though. Getting Even, Big TV and Mother Tongue are, in my opinion, classics. Buy it and bloody well listen to it...okay!!?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
This sounds the same as the last one there are some good tracks on here when you have heard one you have heard them all.
i am disappointed in this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
'BIG TV' is the third studio album by indie-Rock band White Lies.

'BIG TV' follows the story of two young lovers as they make an aspirational move to a big city. Whilst this consistently strong album could be their best record yet, there remains nothing particularly different about 'BIG TV' - if anything it may flirt with the more melodious side but it is unquestionably White Lies.

You can hear the collective sigh of relief on the opening track 'Big TV' that towers above the rest of the album - taking nothing away from the balance of the record, this epic title track reaches heights that none of the other tracks quite approach; this is perhaps made even sweeter following the resounding failure of a rival post-punk revivalists recent love-infused offering. Singles 'There Goes Our Love Again' and 'Getting Even' are equally epic and although the album is filled up with a couple of needless 'space' interludes the majority of the record oozes class. There is a direct simplicity to this album that remains simultaneously epic and harmonious. Harry McVeigh's baritone voice cascades high above.

This will not disappoint their followers. Comparisons to Echo & The Bunnymen,Joy Division and Interpol pleasingly persist.

Listen to: 'Big TV', 'Be Your Man', 'Goldmine'
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
A great addition to their catalogue. This is a very well polished, melodic, catchy offering in true White Lies style. Their best yet? It might well be, although "To Lose My Life" might be the album that really stands the test of time. If you like White Lies, do not hesitate to buy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
A really good album. The standout song for me is "Change", which is easily as good as anything on the first two albums. I was initially slightly disappointed with it, but like the other White Lies albums, it's a real grower, if you let it in! I can listen to all three albums over and over and not get bored, but whichever the latest album is it's always playing catch-up to the earlier songs now already programmed into my psyche. So, I find the best way to listen to White Lies is to put them as artist on my mp3 and play the three albums together but shuffled. This forces your ears to compare them as a "body of work", and it's surprising just how equally good they then all sound, after a few plays! Then you can go back and appreciate the individual album anew.

Isn't it about time for a new album, chaps..?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
another great album from these guy's. Loved the songs more after hearing them live. An extra song or two would have been nice thoughto make it last a little bit longer. great cd for in the car.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Not sure about this album when I first heard it but the more I listen to it the better it gets. Not as good as the first album (which is one of my favourites of all time)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Brilliant! !! Melodic moody atmospheric anthemic uplifting addictive. Yet another class production from White Lies! Fully recommend! You need this in your life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£5.23
£14.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)