Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

What can i say,this has been issued several times before, as 'Live In Denmark '72' circa 2002,again as 'Live In Copenhagen' circa 2007,remastered apparently,also as a DVD circa 2005 titled 'Live In Concert 72/73 (which included the footage from America),there's also a video called 'Scandanavian Nights',not to be confused with a live album of the same name,phew,its confusing,i believe however this is the first time the 1973 American tracks have been issued as stand alone audio.

If your a Purple fan,then i dont need to re-iterate that this was mark 2 at their peak,'Made In Japan', is rightly held up as a classic live album,no arguements with that,this is its equal,if pushed i would argue its possibly better.

The sound .on this release,has been remastered ,it says here,its of its time,its sound great given its more than 40 years old,Paice's drums bounce from the speakers,the energy from Glover and Lord underpinning everything,whilst Blackmore just,does what he does best,magnificent guitar playing stunning solo's,moments of ,off the wall genuis,then there's Gillan,his voice sounding immaculate,i believe his performance,here, certainly better than Made In Japan(which wasnt too shabby)

its an incredible soundbite of Purple at their youthful best,the exuberance,intensity crackling from the speakers,a joy to listen to,throw in three excellent tracks from the USA 1973,including 'Smoke on the Water',then you can die happy, a fabulous release,audio wise.

Packaging,well thats a different matter,a scandously cheaply made digi pak,with one cd tray/holder,its the first time i've ever bought a double cd where i had to store 1 disc directly on top of the other,whilst the booklet has a few decent pictures,Geoff Bartons notes are woeful,interestling there is an insert that refers to a series of 10 releases(Live in Paris '75 appears to have been the first,this being the 2nd),given that that Paris disc has been issued before as well,it will be interesting to see, if its all, reissues of previously released material.

If you havent got any of the previous versions on cd,this is well worth buying.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Originally, I planned to collect the previous release, but when I heard about this new release I decided to buy it because of the 1973 bonuses (as it was originally on the 2002 DVD version).

I'm very glad that EDEL re-releasing this archive concert titles, they are very good and valuable.

I suppose the sound is probably just a bit "re-equalized" (the original source was a videotape, not a multi-track soundboard recording). I'm not analyizing the material, it speaks for itself.

The new digipack design is looking good, there is a short illustrated booklet indside (not as long and well-written as the original DPAS/Sonic Zoom releases, but better than nothing).

But the packaging...is AWFUL. (And I was moderate.) There is only one tray inside, the two CDs are sitting on each other. Dear EDEL, the case of CD was called jewel box in the old time, in order to protect the discs from scratches and other injuries. I can't belive, that a proper 3 part digipack with two trays would have cost much more than this...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
richie at his best here some my differ with me but this band will always be in my car house laptop just everywhere i go they are always with me this is not my first band but in my top 5 and always will be pity they had not released all the live shows before this but somebody using the head keep up the good work and get the rest out here
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Deep purple are one of my favourite bands ever, i have all their albums
except for the albums with Steve morse cause i prefer Ritchie blackmore
if steve morse had not committed to the band after all these years
then Deep purple's career would have been over for sure their last album would have been
THE BATTLE RAGES ON
but the debate can go on forever if steve morse was the best choice or not
some fans love steve morse and Richie blackmore's playing, each to their own
ir is a matter of opinion really

but Ritchie blackmore is Deep purple in my opinion.
but this is not about Ritchie blackmore
this is about this new LIVE album of Deep purple Live in copenhagen 1972
which is a soundtrack actually to the TV broadcast concert filmed in copenhagen 1972
just weeks before the release of Machine Head

this soundtrack concert was first released on CD in 2007 by Sonic zoom records
i'm not sure it's Digital remastered, all tracks sound Good but i think are mono not stereo

but this 2013 reissue by Edel music Germany does sound better than the 2007 sonic zoom issue
mainly cause all tracks have been remastered with the latest Digital technology that's why it's a reissue
i have listened to all the tracks and in my opinion this reissue does sound like a stereo live recording
compared to the 2007 release which sounds mono
but if you buy the cd and listen to it yourself, you may love the sound or you may hate it who knows.

the tracklisting for this 2013 Edel music cd is the same as the Made in Japan CD
only difference is smoke on the water is not recorded and in it's place is Fireball
i have the Made in Japan album on CD and Vinyl anyway
so the only reason i bought this Edel reissue is cause of Fireball
this Copenhagen 1972 concert was the only time Fireball was officially recorded LIVE for an audience.

this CD also have bonus tracks, 3 tracks recorded LIVE from the 1973 New york concert
Strange kind of woman, Smoke on the water and space truckin'
one of Ian Gillan's last concerts before he left
all 3 tracks have been edited and sound like the 3 tracks were recorded direct from the DVD release
i prefer the LIVE versions on Made in Japan actually the sound quality is much better on Made in Japan
but each to their own.
there is also an Australian interview from 1971 that only Goes for 5mins
Ian Paice and Jon Lord are interviewed,
but it's very rare interview so it is interesting
the packaging is digipack not a Jewelcase, there is a very informative booklet included
about the Copenhagen concert and Deep purple's 1971-72 tour

so this 2013 reissue is definitely worth the money it sounds better than the 2007 release by Sonic zoom
it sounds like stereo LIVE recording, so yes worth the money
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
A superb gig. In 1972 Purple were at there peak even with all the internal turmoil. When they took the stage something magical happened. The tracks on hear have been released live in different forms on various albums culminating in the release of the deluxe version of Made In Japan. Purples stage set remains pretty much unchanged except for encores for a few years. However I've never known a band to make the same songs have a different feel and emotion. They were not a band just to go through the motions night after night. Different solos drum patterns between song interplay. Strange Kind Of Woman is never the same. Musicians at the top of their game. Faultless. Can't wait for Long beach 1971. Magical. Packaging leaves a lot to be desired bonus material worth having.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
a classic deep purple concert from 1972.
this is a great value double album.
ear blistering rock which gave led zeppelin a run for their money.
extended versions which are at least the equal of made in japan.
hard to believe that smoke on the water was not played.
it is only here as a bonus track from a different concert.
Copenhagen 1972
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Sound quality is not brilliant. The mix seems a little strange now and again.
However, it's a brilliant perfomance. DP are on fire on this one.
Love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Great band and great concert. Sound quality well done. The best Deep Purple band ever, nice to have this concert and compare it with Deep Purple Made in Japan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
What can you say about the boys which has not been said before. A great album and great for in the car. Play it loud.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
This was recorded on the tour just after Machine Head yet the songs from that album already feel like the road worn classics they have become. I had seen the DVD some time ago at a friend's house but opted for the CD as I have more time to listen to music. Deep Purple's heyday came a couple of years too early for me so I never saw them play - something I regret after listening to this. The standard of musicianship from all band members is truly magnificent; I especially like the extended solos and instrumental workouts, which leave room for the players to stretch out. These days everything is rehearsed down to the smallest detail - while the shows may look slick and professional they lack soul and feeling. This CD has plenty of both. The sound quality is pretty good for a TV special too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse