Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 January 2015
What has happened to the review system on amazon?, people seem to be using this as a feedback or the complaints department, ie Blu-ray or dvd has not turned up, or item was damaged in the post, and the one letter word reviews like good, bad, poor, Rubbish ect ect, how does this help people make there choice for buying? just like a review on this film Convoy, they brought a Blu-ray and had to send it back, because they made a mistake, so instead of just contacting amazon or the amazon trader they gave the Blu-ray/film one star, how dumb is that? but instead of amazon removing this pointless review they just leave it, but hay they are very quick at removing negative comments left on their reviews, well the nasty ones, for me amazon need to sort this out.

Oh i would just to say Convoy is a Top film with a wonderful title song, and this film for me was Kris Kristofferson's best film, and i am a big fan of Burt Young(rocky saga) who is one of my favourite unsung movie heroes, and if you feel like a boost in life, then put this film on, this is a great film to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon.


Passion & poetry - Sam's Trucker Movie
More Production Stills
Trucker Notes From Norway
US Radio Spots
US TV Spot
Aspect Ratio 2.35:1(which looks good)
Region B
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Chances are if you are buying this film you've already seen it long ago in your teenage years - you know the plot.
Under another director this movie could have become fluff. The master Peckinpah keeps it taught though, and along with the humour and good time fun injects a gritty quality that probably missed my perception in my youth.
The picture transfer is superb, with strong colours and tones. The one bugbear is the sound. Forget 5.1 Surround. Forget stereo even - this film is offered up in MONO. It's a truckin' shame! Get over it though and just enjoy the film.
Nostalgia is big business these days, and if a yearning for 70's teenage memories has drawn you here you will not be dissapointed.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
A review of the blu-ray, not the film. If you're on this page, it's almost guaranteed that you've seen the film and know exactly what you're watching.
I must have been 10 when I first saw this film. It's one of those films that I can just watch over and over again and still enjoy it as much as I did the first time I saw it.
When I read that there was going to be an HD transfer, my heart sank. Too many of my childhood memories have been destroyed in quick and dirty transfers to blu-ray in hopes of making a few quid on the quick.

I'm happy to report, that whoever was behind the scrubbing up of Convoy did a bang up job.
Listening to the revs of those engines never gets old, and the HD audio sounds tremendous. Easily up there with listening to the Harley's from Sons of Anarchy on Blu-Ray.
And the picture, wow. It's pixel perfect. A 35 year old film. And it looks better than half of my collection of "modern" blu-rays. Those gorgeous sweeping panoramic shots looks absolutely amazing in HD.
Considering its age, and it's relative cult status, especially in this country, he extras are relatively decent too.

Forget that terrible DVD transfer, ths is the definitive version of everyone's favourite road movie.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
This is an absolute hoot. You don't need to know the plot-it's totally unimportant.

Considering the subject, it's amazing that this could be made so endearingly daft, and you've got to give huge credit to the filmmakers for making it so enjoyable.

The great Ernest Borgnine- how much we miss him !- is brilliant as the nasty-but actually not so- cop.

Kris Kristofferson should've made more films like this, and gets a succession of brilliant quips and one-liners, and actually some quite piercing-and brilliantly timed- lines as well; a number of sequences show just how good KK really is.

The Country sound track is great, and the use of classical music around crashes adds to the way this just reduces me to fits of helpless giggling. Every time.

The political aspects were introduced just to give the thing enough of a plot to make it out to movie length, for it is only based on a song, after all. The destruction of the town by trucks is a masterpiece of slapstick. It's odd to see this from the director that gave us "The Wild Bunch", but it makes it one of the great fun movies of its period.

But, it's endearingly daft. I'm a car driver, so if the speed cops come off worst, how can I not enjoy it, even if it's lorry drivers doing it?

Great fun; it may not deserve five stars for Quality, but for sheer enjoyment it can have no less.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Note: This review is for the Dutch release (in English) of the film. I have just noticed that these reviews are added to all releases of the film, and some of my comments might not apply to them.

This is one of my favourite films, but I hadn't watched it for years after my VHS player gave up the ghost and I no longer had the ability to play tapes. The transfer to DVD is good, but there seem to be some missing scenes in this edition. Not only that, they have been cut out ina very unsympathetic way that I am sure Sam Peckinpah would not have approved of. The scene I particularly noticed had gone is where Special Assistant to the Governor Chuck Arnoldi goes down the line of truckers on the back of a low-loader trying to get an understanding of what the truckers are looking for. All he actually gets is mostly obscene, threatening, or meaningless responses including Big Nasty dropping his pants and mooning at him. Why they had to cut this scene I don't know, perhaps it was something to do with getting a 12 rating for the video. The film is spoilt not only because one of its most amusing scenes has gone but also because the subsequent conversation between Chuck and the Duck loses much of its meaning. Yeah, yeah, I know the whole film is escapist nonsense that doesn't make much sense in the cold light of logic, but Peckinpah has carefully crafted his film for pace and flow, which is suddenly lost with this uncreative cut. There are other places in the film where the flow seems to stutter. Very probably other scenes have been cut, but I don't remember the specifics. There are other editions of this film out there, I recommend looking for one that has the original content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
I've seen sharper DVDs than this blu-ray but since I haven't seen this actual film on DVD I can't be certain it's worse. The quality is ok but no scene stands out as having blu-ray sharpness which even on other average blu-rays you normally do. The sound isn't fantastic either. Still the film is ok but unless you're a massive fan of this film you might want to save some money and buy it on DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Breaker one nine-this here is the rubber duck-remember that? This is a great film that no one can go without! It is a pity that this film is not shown again because it would attract more fans to get this fine and fairly funny film. Truckers messing around on the CB winding up a nasty sheriff-You know what I am talking about? Then get this film-you will love it all over again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
Excellent film having watched it for years i really enjoy watching it. Very disappointed about it missing bits without even being told before i purchased it. overall very good film but it loses marks for being edited and not being informed about them before purchase.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Wish i had read the discription before i bought a german language film. Still a great film even though. h
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2007
Watched this as a teenager. A great feel-good movie,
which makes you want to drive a huge truck and talk
to your mates via CD radio. Even if trucks or CB
radio doesn't interest you. A bit like watching Rocky 3
made people leave the movie thinking they were a boxer,
even if they weren't really interested in boxing.
Come on now - be honest.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)