Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 June 2014
Bryson obviously loves research and debunking existing historical myths. This is broad in scope and often laugh out loud funny as we get to meet the misguided heroes that are such a big part of this story. Great read which really makes you wish you were there..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2014
In Bryson's usual style this is an entertaining and engrossing read. The only downside is that there is a little too much focus on baseball. Whilst this may be fine for American readers it can become a little boring for others. Nevertheless, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2014
Another good book. Bryson is able to make information interesting. I am not into aeroplane flight history but he makes it interesting.
Got a bit lost in the baseball part but his description of the characters make up for that.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
Bill Bryson does it again, a story of a summer in the history of America, A full cast of characters, heroes, villans, famous and obscure. left me with a sense that I missed out on a special time, but what a time! The earlier American version of London 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
As before Mr. Bryson has in my opinion written a really superb book, I have found again that somehow his work is really unique in depth of knowledge & once more I am uplifted in spirit at such wonderful writing, a truly readable book, please keep em coming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2015
Such an interesting book! Filled with information but it is delivered in bite size chunks which is easy to absorb. Really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in history but doesn't particularly want to read a heavy reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
Some extraordinary people whom I really never knew the story of in a fascinating age but could have been a little broader, perhaps a little too much about flying for me. Very well written as usual but I guess not as humorous as many of hid other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2014
A lovely snapshot of a summer in time with supporting pre and post background detail that made it really interesting. For me it was certainly an eye opener on some of America's seeder side. Yes, to much on baseball but I now know all about Ruth Babe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2015
A fascinating jog through America in the 20's. The book initially focusses on aviation but then moves on to a wider remit encompassing all that was happening in the US in 1927. I learnt many small facts, not least how Ponzi schemes got their name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2013
1927 was a big year in America. Bryson leads with the first successful flight across the Atlantic ocean. Then weaves other events of that year, touching on Babe Ruth ,murders ,politics and many other events from that year and indeed that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)