Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
140
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2015
Kendrick Lamar is easily (in my opinion) the best current rapper, this is quite easily in my top-10 albums of all time.. and that's coming from a metalhead!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
It's not the classic album that everybody claims it is
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
You can hear a heavy Dre influence on the beats on this record which was more than enough for me to buy this but this kid has great potential and his lyrics are not your standard rap lyrics, you can tell he put alot of work into this album and it has paid off.

Dre's next protege might actually do half as well as his biggest one which is no mean feat.

Buy this if you like Dre's producing and like a Drake like flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
this album is quality. when i heard this guy was from Compton and signed to aftermath (Dre's label) i was expecting a real gem of work and boy were my expectations met...after a few listens that is-his voice grated on me initially and i wasn't too keen on his second single here in the uk Backseat Freestyle. but needless to say after countless listens i now love the whole darn thing esp Compton, Money Trees, Poetic Justice, m.A.A.d Kid and B*tch Don't Kill My Vibe. Buy now and support dre and Kendrick Lamar as they deserve it. Aftermath 4 life b*tch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
In a world were hip hop is being strangled this is a great album that flows well from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Wow, Dre has done it again. Found another dope rapper. Kendrick is one of my favorite rappers ever, every song he is on is good, everything he says means something unlike most rappers in the game now days, listen to songs like M.a.d.d city, Swimming Pools, ect and you will understand what I mean. I hope he becomes the next 2Pac. Album is brilliant from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This album is a must have for r&b/hip-hop fans! The lyrical creativity of Kendrick Lamar is second to none. I would recommend 'Swimming Pools,' 'Compton' and 'The Art Of Peer Pressure' as definite listens on this album. It was also produced by Dr. Dre and you can really tell when listening to the songs. Definitely an up and coming artist, one to look out for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Put it this way, I own the mp3 of this album, but after a couple of listens, I decided I needed a hard copy. My mac doesn't even have a disk drive... Every now and then there comes along an album or film that you just have to have to own, this is one such album. Also if you get a chance search 'Kendrick Lamar The Heart pt1' on youtube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
For those of you who are true Kendrick fans you'll know what I mean by game changer. I'm talking his recent control verse, but this album was the true start for the masses, except the section 80 veterans out there - another great album if you are considering buying Kendrick's music.

For those who are considering buying this though, there is no question.

The same old tedium of rap gets very boring, to the point where i hear people judging a rap song on the 'beat' rather than the lyrics. What happened to real hip-hop??? Kendrick is bringing it back!!
I'm not saying a beat isn't important but Kendrick's lyrics pack enough power to shut anyone up, without needing a crazy bassline to kick it. I saw this guy live in Leeds, one of the only people i've really wanted to see live, and he was amazing. One of the few real rappers with raw talent; no auto-tune, no over the top references to hoes and money, just real rap about real life.

Sometimes i like the money and hoes rap, but its this guy i'll always return to 90% of the time for the pure raw talent and lyricism. He's gonna make it big, keep an eye out
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Kendrick Lamar should be so proud of this album. love every song.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here