Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
72
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 11 July 2012
How did Terry Brooks manage to fit this much story into so few pages?
This book covers the story of Allanon the Druid's quest to find someone of the Shannara bloodline and is set in the time just before and leading up to Mr. Brook's first novel Sword of Shannara.
In and of itself the story is well told and an enjoyable short read but as a prelude to the original story it is oh so much more.
Worth every penny
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
This is simply Allanons days leading up to the start of the sword of Shannara. A great insight that shows that Allanon was not as prepared as he should have been for the return of the warlock lord, but also things had luckily been working in everyones favour...especially for Shea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
love all his books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Very good short
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Allanon’s Quest sets the scene rather nicely for what’s to come in the story that started it all, The Sword of Shannara.
Allanon – sole surviving Druid of Paranor – has waited for centuries for sign of the Warlock Lord’s return. Those signs are now manifesting and he must move to counter the danger while he still can.
Easier said than done, for it would appear the Warlock Lord has anticipated Allanon’s strategy and is already eliminating any and all threats to his machinations.
What form that takes quickly becomes apparent and helps us understand why it is that Shea Ohmsford of Shady Vale is the only person alive who can hope to save the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
Just read the amazing short story Paladin's of Shanara, Allanon's Quest, It was like meeting an old friend, it's been so long since I read about Allanon, its an easy read I read it in no time a real can't put it done book.
Paladin's of shannara, take you back to one of Terry Brooks great characters, for fans its a book to cherish, for those who have never read Terry Brooks, its a great introduction to the world of Shannara.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good readPaladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (Short Story)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
A sword of shannara was one of the earliest Fantasy books I read. This story serves as a prologue to the book and it was a nice reminder to go back into this world. I paid around 70p for this which I thought was well worth it. This is not a story to buy if you have never read a Shannara book but it should be a welcome addition for anyone who has.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
If anyone has read the masterpiece that is The Sword Of Shannara, then this is quite simply a must-read.
I will not go into it in any detail -- it's a quick read and it's only 65p -- but in reading it, I was transported back to when I was 11 years old (I'm 36 now) and devouring the first few pages of Sword.
It put a smile on my face, and although it didn't answer any questions or shed light on any great mysteries, it was a fantastic read and one I can't recommend enough.
If you have a Kindle-thingy, buy it. If you don't, download the "read it on your PC/MAC" tool... then buy it.
Seriously, one of the best things I've ever bought for under a quid.
Cheers for the memories, Terry.
Stu.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
My Thoughts On The Book:

This is going to be just a mini review as it's hardly right to put out a full size review of a book that's only 40 pages long, not that this book is anything less than great as for a book so small it packs a punch for fans of Shannara. This short novella tells of events directly before Allanon's appearance in Shady Vale looking for Shea Ohmsford in The Sword Of Shannara.

Allanon is the last of the Druids and is desperately searching for the last heir of Shannara, the one person in the world who can defeat the darkness using the famed Sword Of Shannara, this heir is the only one able to wield it but at every step the enemy is getting to the heirs first and slaughtering them before Allanon can get to them, to protect them. Time is running short and there is no knowing how many heirs are left, if any at all, so Allanon is chasing every lead no matter how slim it is but there is one last twist of fate in store for the druid, one that he could never have hoped for.

This is a short, but poignant novella, full of deceit and betrayal which nearly steals the remains of Allanon unusually long life. The tale gives us a sneaky little insight into events leading to The Sword Of Shannara and into the enigmatic druid himself.

It's a wonderfully crafted little story that slips perfectly into the gigantic Shannara timeline and only adds to the whole series. It's crisp and clearly formed, full of imagery despite it's limited length and as usual Brooks has written something that stays with you which is surprising for such a tiny tale. Allanon had always been a mesmerizing character and this tiny tale only adds to the mystery surrounding this strange and powerful man.

Final Thoughts:

This is a fantastic addition to the Shannara series, it's fits well into it's surroundings and despite it's being a novella it actually does add something to the whole Shannara sequences, gives us glimpses into the events leading to The Sword Of Shannara and gives that books extra meaning now we know how Allanon got to that point in time. So if you are a fan of the epic Shannara books then this is most surely a must read book for die hard fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
I read 'The Sword' as a youth. Yes, it was a shameful copy of LOTR and yes, it was first draft quality, unedited and, by rights, should never have been printed. But, there's no such thing as originality and Terry Brooks had achieved what his critics could only aspire to ... written a book.

But it possessed a haunting quality that led me to keep the book on my shelf for years after the first read and to return to it time after time.

This is different in that it is much better writing from a man who has clearly gained confidence over time. It draws on his original tale - so not original at all - but in Shannara Brooks has a recipe that is successful ... so if it ain't broke, why fix it?

The story is no Booker Prize winner so no great literary merits here. The author still makes basic errors - such as 'information dumping' and 'showing rather than telling', but I chose to overlook them, regardless. And did I enjoy it? Yes. Was it worth 99p? Hell, yes. So, for anyone who wishes to take a trip down memory lane and while-away an hour or so reading a pleasant fantasy yarn, I can well recommended this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse