Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fade To Grey: The Best Of
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 24 April 2015
This is an OK release but unfortunately the tracks have been compressed a lot so sound quality is average at best. I was hoping that this release had sourced the original masters but they appear to be the same as those used for the Face best of release. As others have mentioned Night Train is again the album version. The only CD I'm aware of that has the Night Train single mix is from a German Polydor release 'Listen To The Future Vol. 2' [Polydor ‎– 823 598-2].
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
This is brilliant love it . The selection is very good and the recording is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2017
Just for my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2017
Not bad listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
Great to find music from 80-90's groups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
You cant really complain for the £4 I paid for it but to be honest the sound does sound very flat for the tracks from the first visage album which is a shame. The packaging is average but that shot on the back makes Rusty look like he is dying for a bit of intimate relations with steve. Jokes aside its average and an ok cd for the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
This first came out on cassette and LP as the original 'best of' compilation.

As a teenager, it was a dream intro into the group and it really does contain some awesome tracks.

However, with the dawning of CD and downloads, the choice of compilations has expanded and there are now greater collections available, including rare tracks, unusual mixes and foreign language recordings.

Great as a starter (or for completists), but there are more innovative collections on the market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
OK, this is a budget release and is quite openly cashing in on any interest their latest offering may be generating. However the official description looked interesting enough for me to go for it anyway - unreleased photos and 2 BBC Sessions for starters, yippee!

As usual with Visage compilations things are never quite what they should be, which is a pity as this material deserves so much more, independent of the price tag. I already have all the official compilations, plus a couple in the grey area, as I'm sure most die-hard fans do, so why should this have been released?

There are only 3 photos I've not seen before (2 are on the outer inlays), but they do manage to get a written and pictorial advert for the new album in there! Details about the photos, including specific photographers, are omitted, as are any production/mix notes for any of the songs....everything seems a bit anonymous. Ofcourse the benefit to the label is they can't then be accused of listing the wrong version, so maybe that's a good thing!

Good points:
- the disc is not at an ear-piercing volume, and levels across all tracks are comparable (no extra mastering, but sounds good).
- the BBC Session of "Can You Hear Me?" is definitely an early version, though I recall Steve actually brought in early mix-downs to play during an interview (there are no BBC Production Credits mentioned anywhere in this release). This is the 'gem'.
- "In The Year 2525" is not taken from the Dance Mix album, so fades out properly
- includes some unusual choices such as "Malpaso Man" and "Wild Life", and focuses on the earlier material

Not so good points:
- no versions listed (though Amazon had details) or any production credits
- "Tar" and "Night Train" are both the album versions (again)
- "Malpaso Man" and "Moon Over Moscow" don't fade out before the segue/beats of the next track. This is lazy compiling!
- "Frequency 7" is the dance instrumental, ofcourse, even though the band did get the original 7" remastered recently
- "The Anvil" BBC Session appears suspiciously like the album version. Not sure this is really from a BBC session/early take, as its all a bit too polished, although the female vocals seem lower in the mix at times. A far cry from "Can You Hear Me?".
- "Beat Boy" has an abrupt cut-in, and is then the album mix, losing all the development of the original intro. Ofcourse it would have been really good if they'd used the 7" edit instead, if they had to use an edit. Maybe next time....

I'm quite frustrated by this release, although it is still a good intro for anyone who may have not bothered buying 2010's glossier "The Face" (also with track errors). It is marred by some bad fade-outs, and yet again using album versions of 2 singles. Still love the band, the imagery and most of the music on here, but can only stretch this to 3 stars - sorry!
55 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
Another compilation of Visage - which has a few teasers.
I have a number of the other compilations and I bought this spontaneously. I didn't even know another compilation had been released to cash in on the new album.

It was worth the £3 due to:
- any compilation of Visage's 1980s tracks is worthwhile (- but when, oh when will we get the ultimate version?).
- uniform sound/mastering; though no credit given.
- 7" mix of (inbetween albums track) 'Pleasure Boys'. Sounds better than 1993 version.
- Tracks from the first album sound good 'Malpaso Man' and 'Moon Over Moscow' (better than the album CD? - which is overdue a remastering overhaul).
- New track 'Wild Life' sounds good in this company! Check out the new album.
- A few new photos and new sleevenotes.
- 'Fade to Grey' 12" version - I never get tired of this track.

- Not sure what the difference is between 'The Anvil' previous releases and the 'BBC session' included here. Sleeve credits say that both BBC sessions are 2008?!
- 'Can You Hear Me' is 'Beat Boy' era Visage - they were a different band...
- Longer version of 'Beat Boy' - interesting but makes me long for the original band.
- 72 mins long - but no room for the single 'Vis-Age'; 'Der Amboss' German version of 'The Anvil' etc.

So worth £3 - but otherwise it's a stop-gap until the long overdue ultimate version - let's hope it's before 2525!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)