Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been building up a bit of a portfolio of portable speakers - this one is perfect for taking around the house. It's been used in the bathroom quite a bit recently and also good for trips away. It's light enough to fit in your suitcase and produces enough good quality sound for your hotel room


- Sound quality is good in terms of bass, clarity and lack of distortion
- Volume is satisfactory
- Bluetooth set up and use is very straightforward and reliable - have linked this to iPhone, laptop, blackberry and iPad
- Nice neat design - this is a review of the grey speaker
- Can also be used for conference calls with your phone


- Turning it off can be a bit of a lengthy process at times as it's a multi-function button
- Has a USB cable but no USB plug
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
I am rather disappointed with this speaker.
The unit is large while the sound is small and lacking bass. It is huge compared to my JBL Flip, but no match for sound.

When connected by cable to my PC it clicks and rumbles which none of my other speakers do (so not a problem with my PC).
I can't recommend this product.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 September 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Wireless or Bluetooth speakers are the latest must have accessory for your tablet/ smartphone and this is Creative's latest entrant into an increasingly crowded marketplace.

It comes in different colours ( review is of the anonymous looking grey one) and first impressions on lifting it from the well designed packaging and removing the protective wrap were favourable. Clean lines, good build quality, perhaps a little plasticky but good enough for bedrooms, studies etc.

Lightweight for portability ( considerably lighter than other so called portable speakers that I have tried), charging of the built in battery was easy. Jconnect the charger cable to a USB socket and after an initial recommended 8 hour charge, you are ready togo. Disappointing that Creative didn't also include a USB/ mains adaptor and wish you to buy one separately. Still. I used my tablet's USB/charger adaptor and that seemed to work just fine.

The unit boasts NFC which basically gives easy connection to your Bluetooth device. Sadly,my iPhones and iPads don't have NFC so I can't verify that function. I can however say that the standard Bluetooth pairing and operation was extremely easy to achieve and use in practice. All the family's iPhones,iPads, windows phones etc. were paired without any difficulty and the proof of the speaker's ease of use must be the fact that someone always seems to have it in action!

If you really want to you can receive mobile phone calls via the speaker. Useful to some and achievable because a microphone has also been built in to the unit, a first for me in 'leisure' units.

I am no audio expert but the Creative's sound quality seems very good for the price range. If you are a real audiophile, I suspect you would in any case be heading to considerably more expensive premium brands.

Truly portable, the battery life will of course depend on volume etc. but we have managed over 11 hours without recharge so a pretty respectable performance.

Our main niggle is that the multifunction button (with voice prompts!) requires some effort to actually shut the unit down. A simple on/off switch would have sufficed and bee just as effective.

Why only 4 stars? The rather unnecessary lengthening of the switch off via the multifunction button.

Overall, however, this a small wireless speaker that belies its simple looks with some effective advanced features and a strong performance. Proof of its appeal must be that my 10 year old daughter and her friends think it is"ultra cool" and, between them and the rest of the family, I have struggled to get it back. Going to have to buy another one....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
Omg I love this s so much it can go so loud and it makes music so clear I love it so much I think everyone should buy this xxx 👌🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love the idea of a wireless speaker than can play music via Bluetooth/NFC without the need for any power source. It's brilliant for taking into the garden when entertaining, or if I fancy listening to music around the house. It's quite compact and lightweight and simple in appearance. I'd go so far as to say it's a bit boring in its appearance - even just a piano black finish might have made it look a bit more expensive or exciting. It looks a bit plasticky, though.

The sound quality is OK, just a slight distortion at maximum volume which, when up to full, is a good level. Not much depth to the sound and it's not party-level volume, but enough for casual entertaining or general listening.

To connect a device, either pair it as you normally would via Bluetooth or, if you have an NFC device (some android phones have this, e.g. Samsung Galaxy S3, but not the iPhone), just hold it to the back of the speaker and it'll automatically connect.

So although the principle of this is great, and the sound is good enough, there are a few things which are frustrating. There's a multifunction button which switches it on/off, as well as pairs it up to other devices, and also (when pressed twice in quick succession) prompts a verbal indication of the battery life. It's fiddly to switch off/on for this reason - you have to hold the button for ages for it to switch off and if you don't quite do it, it stays on and hence drains the battery. A separate on/off button would have easily solved this. Also, it comes with a charger cable that needs a USB-plug, but that is not provided. Luckily I had one from my phone, but Creative have scrimped on this.

Paying this much for a speaker i'd expect a better-looking, slicker-functioning item. For a fraction of this price, I had a mini speaker that connected via a USB cable to my phone and the sound quality on that was just as good! It's not quite good enough to justify spending that amount of money, despite its very good features.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is something really great about a speaker that you connect to your phone and it plays via blue tooth add to that the portability aspect and your onto a winner.

I always think that when you buy a speaker it can be very hit and miss. I purchased a similar very well known brand paid an arm and leg and have to unplug it and cart it around the house when a want music in another room add to that its connected via a jack and you are already struggling.

This speaker charges via a lead but will unplug and if you want you can take it out into the garden and it will still work. Add to that it connects via your blue tooth. You either put your device to the rear of the speaker or connect via the blue tooth search button on your device and hey presto instant music without a plug socket in sight. It provides its owner with amazing clarity and volume it is really really amazing. You can also wonder away from your speaker with your phone in pocket and the music is uninterrupted.

My hubby spent hours tinkering in his shed at the weekend listening to Pink Floyd and working hard, all this he did without the necessity of an electricity socket and he could hear me if I shouted because his ears were not covered with headphones or buds. He had the freedom to move about unencumbered his phone safely to one side or on his person and no chance of clipping a lead or socket and dragging his iphone onto the floor.

Both he and I are impressed by the sound and clarity of this speaker even at volume so all in all well worth the money. This speaker has one more trick up its sleeve which is it acts as a phone speaker to take phone calls on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The sound was really good nice and clear, really pleasent to hear, so in terms of the main thing its supposed to do yes it wins, far better than my xmini (not a fair comparison i know but its what i had to go on). I've always preffered listening to things through a speaker things are much clearer for me, and its far more comfortable, i just dont like having pads pressing against my ears for a long time.

In terms of portability it is rather large, doesnt offer much better volume as my xmini, but far superior sound quality, if you dont mind carrying in a bag than its great.

than comes the mic to answer phone calls, a pointless gimmick that im not going to even give any credit for. the design also isnt bad, but not nice either something which a lot of other speakers have a lot of thought put into. their is the multifunction power button, which is just annoying as you have to hold it to power off/on or activate bluetooth.

the usb cable that comes with this is quality, it is sleeved which ive not seen before for just a simple usb cable, it has a nice length.

Their is also an AUX in port, which im going to suppose is so that you can input audio into it otherwise, you can use it for example as a wired speaker for your phone or even your PC and not as headphone port. please dont take my word for it this is just a possible point in a direction, i would of tested this out but ive lost my 3.5mm to 3.5mm audio wire.

hope my review gave a good insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2014
You probably won't buy this if you want top notch sound quality, but it can sound pretty good if you play with the equalizer controls on your sound source. If you want bass, you'll need to boost the lower frequencies on your phone, mp3 player, or laptop before transmitting it. It can quite capably kick out the bassline to Goldfrapp's "Ride a White Horse" and Bjork's "There's more to life..." thumps along pleasingly. It can also be very good at vocals (e.g. folk) - these can really stand out, depending on the mix. Where it struggles is when there's a lot going on in the mix - then the bass and vocals can suffer a bit.

For the controls - the fact it only has two buttons is just daft. And why it has to announce every action with a beep or voice is beyond me and could be really annoying if you just want it to shut up - you'd have to wait eight seconds then put up with a sort of flumping noise.

Pairing the device with my mobile was pretty easy, but not as easy as the instructions made out. The NFC works, but it didn't automatically pair - you have to have bluetooth switched on your phone as well - which I guess might be obvious if you're used to bluetooth, but not otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2013
Colour: Grey|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is my first NFC enabled bluetooth speaker, and surprised how easy it was. Just tap the phone on the back (Google Nexus 4 in my case) and it pairs up instantly and loads up your music app, no mess, no fuss. For less advanced phones like the iPhone that don't have NFC, you can pair it up the conventional Bluetooth way.

Sound quality is very good, as is battery life when fully charged, I got over the quoted 12 hours between charges.

I wouldn't personally call this portable, it's larger than I imagined, it's portable around the home perhaps, but that's really it, you wouldn't want to take it anywhere outside the home, there are smaller bluetooth speakers available if you want a portable speaker for travelling.

The speaker itself comes with phone controls for answering calls (if it's your thing), but for me, I only have it paired up for media audio, turning off phone audio (on Android, long press the Bluetooth connection and you can untick the phone audio pairing).

The design is OK, it's not going to win any awards for sure, and it's available in other colours, some rather garish, thankfully I went for the dull and boring grey, I don't need bright coloured speakers to brighten my life :-)

All in all, a good all-rounder, with better than most battery life and good sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
The sound quality on such a small device is phenomenal, especially considering the price.

As per usual with Creative, the build quality and quirky design are simply superb. The bluetooth strength is great, can connect all around the house. Not the simplest of interfaces to use, but once you have a quick glance at the manual, you figure it all out and you get to appreciate it.

Would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a portable speaker!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here