Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Repave
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 July 2017
I got this as I love Bon Iver and as Justin Vernon is the creative force behind this band too I thought it's worth a go. His characteristic vocals and harmonies are ever present in this album too. There is more of a band behind the vocals on this record and I think that helps flesh out the sound well. If you're a fan of Bon Iver this is very much worth a listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2013
I had heard of Justin Vernon, like most people, because of Bon Iver, but despite following other post rock bands, hadn't come across Collections of Colonies of Bees before. This album melds the two styles together to deliver a mature sound that stands up to repeated listening. I jumped at the chance to see them perform in Bristol as soon as they announced their November 2013 tour dates, and I was not disappointed. They played a couple of new songs which suggests further releases are in the works.

From what I hear, Justin is not in any hurry to revive Bon Iver now that he has this new outlet for his work. It's been fascinating to trace his career and those of the people he's been working with (such as Sean Carey) and the many different projects they contribute to. The "norm" when I was a lad was for bands to form, release a few albums and then for the singer to go solo; these guys prove that it's possible to follow a different path (and paths) which comes across as much less marketing and record company led, but, instead, authentic and personal.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2014
Another group I fell into by accident and really kinda difficult to pigeon hole because they follow a single path. These guys are off on weird and wonderful journeys of their own but seriously do remind me very heavily of 80's bands such as Japan and Bauhaus for example.
I completely dig the 80's vibe something rotten so for me a real catch.
If you buy this, take it with an open mind and listen to them a few times to get their vibe in yer bones. But no matter what, enjoy my friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
My all-time favourite album (and trust me I'm picky)
Sound quality not as good on vinyl obviously but this was bought for aesthetic reasons!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
Best album I have bought in years. Really enjoyable listen, reach for it again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2014
This is up there with Bon Iver's best but seems to have slipped under the radar. Brilliant from start to finish. Epic, stirring but also intricate and human...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2015
Brilliant! Reminds me of Bon Ivor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2015
Christmas present well received
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2014
Beautiful album, even better on Vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Kaputt
£17.15
Unmap
£14.86

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)