Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.64


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Excellent, well written documentation about arguably the greatest British heavy metal band. The photos are an added bonus, particularly for musicians looking to source the gear Maiden used back in the day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Really enjoyed this book. And takes the reader through the early years of the band up to powerslave. I would have this 5 stars but at times there are words missing and a lot of slang words used. Still a great book if you're interested in the early days of Iron Maiden.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Good book telling the story of the opening few years of the history of one of the worlds biggest bands
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Bushell may have morphed into a hateful S*n multi-phobe (and there is a hint of the racist attitudes he'd display in the Murdoch rag late on with a commentary on a football game), but his music writing is punderfully witty, and successfully brings the subjects and times to life. I see some other comments complain about the (Cockney rhyming) slang - for me, thats just part of the fun (and I don't get all of the references).
Its a curious experience reading about the story of Maiden and finishing up just before Live After Death is released, and pre the synth-shock of Somewhere in Time, but surely few long-term fans would argue against the opening run of albums up to the almighty 7th Son being their finest work?
This is fairly short, but always entertaining, and you get a balanced view of the years of graft before the eponymous debut album (with Bushell asserting that Maiden weren't punk-influenced, as has long been taken for read on the Di'Anno albums, as most of the tracks were written pre-punk!) and the astonishing acceleration into stadium levithans, conquering the states with near-zero (again, Bushell provides some very precise info on this amidst the tales of drunken antics) radio support. Their ToTP (legendary BBC TV UK chart show for younger/non-UK readers!) appearances are covered - as are the unlucky timing of singles which hit while Beeb techs were out on strike!
Its an old book, there are a few irritating missed words and mis-spellings, the author became quite a hateful figure as a columnist for the odiously right-wing red-top S*n, which he references late on - but I'd highly recommend this book, especially if you cue up a playlist [or album stack!] of the initial Maiden albums to listen to as you read - metal, indeed, popular music in all its many forms has rarely been bettered than that run of albums.
Better still, gaze at the intricate Derek Riggs album art whilst doing so!
Brought back great memories, and learnt a few new things amidst the usual rockers/journos on the piss narrative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
fast shipment, no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
fast shipment, no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2006
I AM NOT A GTREAT METAL FAN BUT THE WRITING OF Garry Bushell makes this a very entertaining read.

It it like Spinal Tap meets The Ruttles and I look forward to reading it again...and I will do the next time I am `down` as it is very funny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Why the greatest rock band on the planet let Bushell rant on in broken English about their rise in the rock world beggars belief. Avoid if you are a maiden fan!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)