Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



VINE VOICEon 22 July 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
(**NOTE: This review is of the Sony Vaio Fit 15E Core i3 1.9GHz model, and not the higher-specced i7 model.**) If you read all of the blurb in Amazon's product description for this laptop, you'll be led to believe that this device has "an intuitive touchscreen [that] helps you get the most from your media". This laptop does NOT have a touchscreen. According to its quick start guide, a touchscreen is available "on selected models only", and this model isn't one of them. Amazon's descriptions occasionally turn out to be slightly inaccurate, but this particular description really ought to be amended, since it contains incorrect information about an aspect of the product that's crucial to the way it functions.

Confusion over its touchscreen capabilities aside, the Sony Vaio Fit 15E (to give it its proper title) is a decent, solid, mid-range laptop. On the inside is an updated Intel Core i3 processor (i3-3227U), 4GBs of RAM and a 750GB hard drive. There's no discrete video card (only integrated graphics via Intel HD 4000). On the left side are two USB 3.0 ports, an HDMI port, an Ethernet port, a microphone jack and a headphone jack. On the right are two USB 2.0 ports and a DVD drive. All of the USB ports are situated close to the front corners, which is a bit of an odd, occasionally irritating design decision. A front-facing SD card slot completes the range of connections.

The screen has a resolution of 1366 x 768 pixels and looks pretty decent. It's quite glossy, though this doesn't bother me. The keys are nice and responsive and the numeric keypad is a welcome addition. The touchpad is far from ideal, however. It features two areas at the bottom that correspond to the left and right click of a mouse, and there doesn't appear to be any way to change this. I prefer using a two-fingered tap to right click, but if there's a way to do this I haven't found it. There also isn't a way to adjust the direction of two-fingered scrolling; for some reason there appears to be a lack of customisation options when it comes to this device's touchpad. UPDATE: The touchpad does have many customisation options, including two-fingered right click and being able to change the direction of two-fingered scrolling. I'm not sure whether these options were added via a software update or whether I just had trouble finding them.

One area where the Vaio Fit 15E punches above its weight is audio. It has a built-in subwoofer, and the audio the laptop produces is clear, bassy and loud - much louder than other laptops I've used. The laptop is also very good at maintaining a decent Wi-Fi connection, though its Wi-Fi card doesn't support the 5GHz band.

If you're looking for a general-purpose, mid-range laptop, you could do a lot worse than the Vaio Fit 15E. Its updated i3 processor can handle most (non-gaming/video editing) tasks with ease, and the overall build quality is good for the price. Just don't expect a nice Windows 8-friendly touchscreen; you'll have to look to higher-end Vaio models if you want one of those.
88 Comments| 171 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
If you like a fast response computer this is definitely out of the question. But did just the job for my daughter's school work!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
One-liner: a solid all-round laptop, which looks and sounds great, but otherwise doesn't stand out from a very crowded market. At £499 it is around £50 over-priced.

The detail
For a few weeks I have been running this side by side with an HP Pavilion which I bought a couple of months ago. The spec is similar - the Sony has a slightly better CPU but less RAM, and otherwise they are extremely close, except for £150 of price difference, the HP being the cheaper.

It has been a while since pure computing power was a big issue, and we are using these as general family laptops, with YouTube, iPlayer, Moshi Monsters and iTunes being the most popular end uses. None of these pose any challenges to the hardware.

Both have been crippled with Windows 8 which has the whole family confused even after three months of use, but we can't really blame HP and Sony for that. Or perhaps we can.

Anyway, Sony know as well as anyone that laptops are commodity items these days and so have differentiated with an investment in sound quality. And it works - laptop speakers have been shocking since forever, leaving users forced to buy external speakers to get any sound lower pitched than a budgie. The Fit E sounds, well, not as good as external speakers, obviously, but genuinely acceptable.

Then we have appearance. White, yeah! Actually it looks really spiffing, with a satisfyingly curvy clamshell shape and a full portion of gleaming whiteness. It is quite tactile too.

It is a Mac wannabe? Probably, but envy is not a crime.

So a good family laptop with plenty of grunt power under the hood for some mid-range gaming action. Great (for a laptop) sound, and gleaming shiny whiteness to make it look expensive.

Which, to an extent, it is. Side by side, including a bit extra for it being a Sony (I am a bit of a Sony fan), I'd pitch it at £450 compared to the £350 I paid for my HP. At time of writing the price is £499, but a bit of shopping around should get you down to £450.

Four stars.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very decent laptop for the price. It basically has everything that you would expect at its price level. Be warned it does run windows 8 but is not a touch screen. Personally I don't mind it but it takes a lot of getting used to and I am a bit envious of people with touchscreen laptops.

This is perfectly adequate for most day to day use; browsing the internet, watching films using office software, playing free online or older games( though obviously this is in no way a gaming laptop) etc. Everything was fast enough. There are definitely more portable laptops out there but I didn't have too many problems using it on the train.
The screen was okay but the sound quality was a marked improvement on other laptops in this price range. Battery life is adequate but nothing more.

Personally I am not a huge fan of the keyboards on most Sony Vaio's but it isn't too bad.

To a large extent laptops have become something of a commodity so I would strongly suggest that people check the pricing very carefully and try to get your hands on them to see how you get on with the keyboards, like the appearance, investigate its ruggedness etc.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
I decided to go for another Sony having had my previous laptop for six years (it was working well but getting slow). I did not want a touch screen so the VAIO Fit E 15.5 inch laptop is great - it's the upgrade from Vista to Windows 8 which is the learning curve. However, I'm getting there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
The Sony Vaio is an excellent laptop. It looks good, has a a very solid feel to it and performs well . Just one point though, which is nothing to do with the computer itself, is that I don't like Windows 8.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This laptop handles really smoothly and is quick. It is streamline and lightweight so easy to to store. Has plenty of storage for music and photos etc.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
The laptop in general is great but the touchpad is oversensitive and skittish. Jumps around all over the place and selects things without even clicking on them. Tried to change mouse settings but still no better. Its a nightmare!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I find out the software version quit difficultly manageable-I have to go from page to page to find what I really need and the Skype is very complicated, so I asked my son to install my old program and now I am happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
the only problem that I have seen so far that it is not so fast especially when I'm using internet. if you have money and don't want to wait you should buy i5 or i7.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)