Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
Great cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Mrs Mac has developed a love of all things QotSA and this CD is getting played to death in her car. It is a fantastic collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
yes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Again another surprise album. QOSTA are another band among others I would happily see live as an under-card as their solid back catalogue lacks any sort of greatness. Here though, we have an album that only gets better as it goes on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
After a six-year gap, it won't alarm you to learn that Queens of the Stone Age's sixth album ...Like Clockwork is a rip-roaring success on all fronts and an obvious labour of love. From its rather divisive opener `Keep Your Eyes Peeled', the ghostly voice of Josh Homme guides you on a thorough encapsulation of the QOTSA sound, comparable in many senses to what Wasting Light did for Foo Fighters a couple of years ago.

To kick things into gear, `I Sat By the Ocean' finds Queens of the Stone Age in `robot rock' mode with quite possibly their best riff we've heard since the heady days of Songs for the Deaf. The haunting piano ballad `The Vampyre of Time and Memory' is a dark AOR moment with a Queen-esque guitar solo before the irresistible rhythm of `If I Had a Tail' provides a welcome uplift in proceedings, almost recalling the 1970s in its hard rock eye for detail.

Essentially, ...Like Clockwork finds Queens of the Stone Age at the top of their game creating riff-heavy alt-rock, completely unembarrassed by their love of classic AOR and their liberal use of power chords. It's almost as if they secretly have the sights set on the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame because ...Like Clockwork is a distillation of the bands many classic rock influences, with songs frequently reminding me of Queen, Pink Floyd and even the Eagles.

The album's lead single `My God Is the Sun' is a jaw-dropping display of guitar virtuosity before collapsing into - of all things! - a waltz and the Elton John collaboration `Fairweather Friends' is an astonishing composition and clearly a career highlight for Josh Homme. The Rocket Man can clearly be heard enjoying rocking his socks off on the piano in a way he hasn't since Bernie Taupin persuaded him to believe that Saturday nights were alright for fighting.

`Kalopsia' - co-written with Alex Turner (Arctic Monkeys) - doesn't let its wistful intro outstay its welcome by bursting into the sort of riff you could imagine the Iron Giant stomping around in a forest to. Meanwhile, Homme's falsetto runs free on `Smooth Sailing', a song which is just pure funk, plain and simple, and unapologetically so. Dave Grohl plays the drums on the initially masterfully restrained `I Appear Missing', which by its conclusion erupts into almost supernova-inducing proportions, before piano-led album closer `...Like Clockwork' ends on a suitably mellow Pink Floyd-esque note.

Literally bursting at the seams with confidence despite their long absence, Queens of the Stone Age really prove their mettle with ...Like Clockwork, a solid album in what is rapidly becoming a flawless discography. Having said that, it is a grower, as indeed are most of Queens of the Stone Age's albums, but in my opinion ...Like Clockwork is the best straight-up rock `n' roll record this year has generated. Given Josh Homme's pedigree, that should hardly be a surprise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 March 2014
I bought this album with a sense of apprehension - but need not have worried.

A lot of thought clearly went into the making of this album - the songs are intelligently written and there a few nice surprises - it all hangs together well.

It is fair to say that this is not their strongest album, but it is still very good nevertheless. It may take a few plays to get into it, but it is worth persevering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Only got into QOTSA recently, but love this album - a great mix of up tempo and slower stuff too. Am working my way through the back catalogue now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Brilliant album! Best QOTSA album for a very long time, infact, for me it is the best one yet, not one bad track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This is a brilliant album. I have listened to most of QOTSA albums and Josh Homme's other work (TCV)and never fail to be impressed by their work. Other reviewers have said that this one doesn't have the 'head-banger' appeal of older albums. I agree, but I think that they have moved on to a more mature product. I particularly like the title track and the falsetto singing which works well on that track. I listened to a live version of this track before I bought the album and really liked the intricate guitar work on the instrumental break. The album version, I felt, was slightly over-produced in comparison, but I still like it. Not a duff track and thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I fear to make such a bold statement, but I believe ...Like Clockwork reaches and indeed surpasses the lofty heights of Songs For The Deaf. The two albums seem fairly incomparable but I'm making the comparison anyway because ...Like Clockwork deserves the same kind of extravagant praise.

This is Queens as a fresh, matured and reflective outfit. Homme calls on some past musicians for aid (Grohl, Nick) and some new musicians for interesting collaborations (Elton John, Trent Reznor, Alex Turner) to hone this cohesive mix of grooves and lamentations.

Those looking for stomping riffs ripping through the album may not be wholly satisfied for ...Like Clockwork is an album not of subtleties, but certainly more intricately arranged and designed than say, some of the frantic jams on SFTD or Rated R. However, those people can be compensated by the heaviness (in mood as well as tone) of 'I Appear Missing' which is possibly the most emotive and breath-taking track here. 'My God Is The Sun' offers that immediate rocker need for solid riffs whilst 'Smooth Sailing' and 'If I Had A Tail' offer a groovier, funkier twist akin to the grooves on Era Vulgaris. There's plenty for everyone, and the key to a successful album is a coherent yet eclectic mix of songs and ...Like Clockwork is exactly that.

...Like Clockwork has a better fluidity to it than Lullabies To Paralyze or Era Vulgaris. It can almost be viewed as a concept album for its lyrical content alone, but the excellent final mix of the album flows so incredibly well that it feels blasphemous to dip in and out of the album (just as well I'm buying the vinyl).

Newcomers, veterans, and general music lovers, do yourself a favour and pick up this extraordinary album. Queens always manage to keep it interesting, and this time they've toned down the experimentation from EV, opened up a little more from the claustrophobic LTP and created a work of art which has made me respect Josh Homme and co more than ever before. Introspective, deep, melancholy, and a wonderful record for the summer, ...Like Clockwork will surely be my Album Of The Year and for many after that.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)