Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.89+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2015
This album more than met my expectations. Most of my Brubeck recordings are concert recordings and whilst I like the atmosphere created by these I generally prefer studio recordings, which this album is. This is the Brubeck Quartet at it`s very best and I am so pleased that it was recommended to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This delightful album takes you back to the decade when Jazz ruled and Brubeck was one of the rulers. Paul Desmond's playing is beautifully assured as you would expect and Mr Brubeck's hands glide effortlessly over the piano keys. Dive in and indulge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Last heard this over 40 years ago on vinyl.
The tracks are in many respects 'classic' Brubeck and Co.
All the signs of what was to come are there.
Best track? Listen to Audrey and see what comes to your mind. For me it evokes memories of empty late night wet City streets with lots of street lamps. One of their best ever tracks I think.
Did he get lost in too many 'Impressions' and 'time signature' recordings - perhaps.
Listen to all those, enjoy them and then come back to this CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
This CD, formerly on LP, was the first time the quartet recorded in a studio, back in the 50s,
Superb playing by all , piano and alto solos.....a dream. Go out now and buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Classic Dave Brubeck Quartet material. Does what it says on the packet. The outstanding track for me, is Audrey. Paul Desmond at his very best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
good selection and well up to his usuall high standard,a very moving requiem for him & his music &will be missed but never forgotten
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Really good album. I always found my foot tapping when I listen to it. You can't go wrong with this. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Great music as expected from this group. Very listenable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
I was able to replace my old record bought in 1956.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This is a fantastic album. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)