Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
Miquel Brown gave Record Shack their first big hit in 1983 with the classic anthem "So many men". A fabulous singer, who between 1983 - 1989 notched up an impressive list of dance hits for both Record Shack and Ian Levine's Nightmare label. This stunning release brings us Miquel's two albums from 1983 & 1985, including extended versions & remixes. At home singing both hinrg disco and soul, Miquel shines on both sets, and the production work is impressive. Check out the tracks "Beeline" and Close to perfection". Wonderful to see these classic albums repackaged.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Miquel Brown's "Manpower" has always been a favorite and when I heard that it was gonna be re-released with the equally satisfying "Close to perfection" album - I was in heaven. The liner notes,the attention to details AND most of all - the amazing sound quality - makes this a "must buy" item,for sure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Well I'm about to purchase this double cd
I'm intrepid, as these songs have and hold special places in our hearts!
And I love Miquel Browns Very Contemporary electronic Dance music, she has a terrifically soaring voice and immediately recocnisable voice too, just like the way that alison moyet billie holliday annie lennox all have, you just know her when you hear her, No one sounds or intonates words or sings as her at all, She's Miquel Brown after all!
Plus any tunes with the linn drum sample playback drum computer on board and I'm Hooked! Lol
Just love the hi nrg sound of berwick streets record shack.
And these two albums show case the sound of 1983 and 1985 and shows how different music was evolving over those years, and these are seminal works of music art
'Manpower' just takes you away with its rythmn and that word POWER, really has depth how it is sung
Beelines a nice dance track too
Black leather is a dark night in a back alley gettin dirty lol type song with a very powerful and straightforward hook
All should have been hi chart hits, but the 'gay' label kept many away, it should not have because here we have some of the most fun and outstanding dance tracks ever to be made.
I'll let you know in an update what I think of these reissues
Cheers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
Boring, boring!! I check old sounds from the 70's and 80's and I remember the song "So Many Men, So Little Time" so I expected to find other good songs. Not the case. Very flat and forgettable albums, Miquel's voice is OK, but nothing to leave you wanting more. 2 albums that did not stand the test of time. They contain different set-list than the originals. Also the booklet talks more about the struggle the composer/producer lived and the dance clubs scene at the time than the singer or the inspiration for those albums/songs. For sure this Disco Recharge edition will be forever shelved in my collection. It is a pity considering previous releases of this series have been remarkable such is the case of the Voyage and THP works. This was a waist effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
MIQUEL COULD BE HEARD IN ANY GAY CLUB/BAR ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD AT THIS TIME
SO MANY MEN SO LITTLE TIME WAS TAKES ME BACK TO MANY CRUISE SESSIONS MANY FRIENDS FROM TIME ARE NO LONGER ALIVE WHICH MAKES THESE TRACKS FOR THOSE WHO WERE THERE VERY BITTERSWEET
BEELINE WAS A BIG HIT AT HEAVEN
NEW YORK .SAN FRANCISCO AMSTERDAM ETC MIQUEL WOULD BE HEARD AND SEEN
I SAW HER PERFORM SEVERAL TIMES SHE WAS ALWAYS SPOT ON
SHE WAS MUCH LOVED BY HER GAY FANS MAY THEY RIP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Two Classic Hi-NRG Albums made so much better... With fantastic remixes on the CD for the 1st time. Another great job from the team at Disco Recharge. Excellent. So Love the 80's
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Great value and quick delivery for an excellent double cd of a fantastic singer and writers/producers of some of the finest music from the hi-nrg era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Highly recommended collection of Miquels fantastic Levine produced tracks. Informative sleeve notes too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Terrific packaging & track compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Two great albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)