Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
217
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2013
WHERE DO I START WELL FROM THE VERY FIRST TRACK TO THE LAST THIS ALBUM IS GREAT YOU FEEL LIKE ITS LIVE WITH SOME VERY CATCHY HOOKS IN ALL THE SONGS, I FOR ONE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO THE LIVE SHOWS I RATE THIS 10 OUT OF 10!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
not what i expected poor.....should stand on their own and not try to emulate PHIL.....I am disappointed.....saw them live as the revamped THIN LIZZIE....they were great live BUT they just sounded like a standard tribute band....i will try one more album......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
The classic Thin Lizzy sound lives on in the Black Star Riders.

People might get hung up on who is/is not in the band, but, when it comes down to it, all that really matters is how the album sounds....and this one rocks.

Hearing echoes of the Johnny The Fox/Bad Reputation albums (with a splash of Emerald)- loving it! Scott Gorham has put together a great band, most of whom have toured as Thin Lizzy (great gig, lads).

If you like Thin Lizzy, then you should give this album a listen.

Raising a glass to Phil. Slainte!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
This is a good album with tones and feel of Thin Lizzy, but different. What makes this album 5 star is the final track, Blues Ain't So Bad. It is worth Buying the album for this track alone and getting the rest into the bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
When work began on this album it was going to appear under the Thin Lizzy name. Trying to please all the Lizzy fans and do justice to the memory of Philip Lynott must have been an unusual and specific pressure directing the writing of the new songs. With a change of name, and in the line up, 'All Hell Breaks Loose' can be viewed as a transitional album that allows the new band to discover who they are and establish the identity of Black Star Riders in its own right. What will be really interesting will be to see the direction they choose to take things in on future albums. Thin Lizzy have always been known as a live band and that will no doubt continue with Black Star Riders who are already committed to a heavy touring schedule for the rest of 2013. Many of the tracks here come with built in opportunities for the audience to sing right back at them.

Opening with the legendary dual guitars, the title track is something of a surprise as it is not as aggressive as its name might suggest. The anthemic single 'Bound for Glory' that fans are already familiar with is up next. This gives us the first of Damon Johnson's killer guitar solos. Ricky Warwick has a voice that is both powerful and melodic, shown off to its very best advantage here, singing his own lyrics. 'Kingdom of the Lost' has wonderful Celtic feel with Ricky looking back to his Northern Irish roots.

With 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad' Scott Gorham silences those who have in the past questioned his contribution to the writing for Thin Lizzy. After the pulsating high energy of 'Kissin' the Ground' things get slowed down just a little with the brooding lyrics of 'Hey Judas.' The driving 'Before the War' continues the war theme established early on. Drummer Jimmy DeGrasso has wasted no time getting to work on the rhythm section with Marco Mendoza. This new partnership comes into its own on 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad.'

Picking favourites is difficult, but from first hearing 'Valley of the Stones' has been right up there. Every track has its own merits, but after just a few hearings I would add to that 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad.' On first hearing 'Hoodoo Voodoo' and 'Someday Salvation' didn't work quite as successfully for me, but several listens in, the little devils are worming their way into my brain.

The Special Edition comes with the bonus track 'Right to be Wrong' - well worth paying a bit extra to get this one. The `Making Of' DVD is also well worth having. It gives some really interesting insights into the songs, and how everything came together. It also works well to introduce Jimmy to the fans.

With this album Black Star Riders announce their arrival - a force to be reckoned with, with the Thin Lizzy spirit running through it. Warwick/Johnson will be a partnership to be looking for in the writing credits for years to come. I defy anyone not to be dancing round the room while listening to All Hell Breaks Loose (Air guitarists - I leave that to your discretion.)
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I was told by a mate of mine that this was the nearest thing to Lizzy he had ever heard, so I was looking forward to listening to it. To be honest I wasn't that bothered if it did sound like Lizzy but hoped for a good rock album.

Sadly, its neither and just a bunch of mediocre songs that sound distantly like Lizzy even the singer has a Lynott twang.

The production is awful - the guitars are fizzy and the bass just a rumble with no definition.

Not recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
being a big Lizzy fan I ordered this immediately and it has the hints of Thin Lizzy in there. Great guitar playing and some great songs - should be great in concert where new songs tend to come to life. I have subtracted one star because I think they could have filled up the extra space with a few other songs or demo versions. Recommended to Lizzy fans and any fan of rock music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
With Scott Gorham on guitar this was always going to have a Thin Lizzyesque sound and Ricky Warwick channels as much of the old irish charm as he can into an album that is very accessible.

I listened to it about half a dozen times on the bounce while travelling over the last day or two and while it peters out a bit towards the end there are no clunkers on the album,
All Hell Breaks loose and Bound for Glory are both classic rock songs that jump start the album -but Bloodshot and Hoodoo Voodoo have both grown on me with repeated listens.
Lyrically the songs are pretty simple fare and this is where Lynott is definitely missed but Ricky Warwick does a good job bringing the words to life with his slightly weatherbeaten voice and there's a strong melodic core to the songs that should appeal to fans of Thin Lizzy none the less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 August 2013
As just about every rock fan and his Lynott loving Aunty knows, Black Star Riders were previously Thin Lizzy.
Or at least the band that performed live as Thin Lizzy, featuring ex-Lizzy guitarist Scott Gorham and, since 2009, vocalist Ricky Warwick of The Almighty.

However the reformed Thin Lizzy, even with original drummer Brian Downey and one-time Lizzy keyboard player Darren Wharton were in the ranks, had as many detractors as they had die-hard followers.

For every fan who championed keeping the music (a)live, another felt the name, legacy and absolutely irreplaceable Phil Lynott should be left to rest in peace.

However the decision to record an album of all-new material, along with the departure of Downey and Wharton, brought with it a name change and the chance to establish an identity for a new band featuring Gorham, Warwick, Damon Johnson (guitars), Marco Mendoza (bass guitar) and latest recruit Jimmy DeGrasso on drums.

And what of that identity?

Well the title track rattles out of the speakers before delivering a solid, mid-tempo pulse and punchy if predictable chorus, but the short twin-guitar melody bridge is straight from the Thin Lizzy songbook.

The nod to Thin Lizzy is followed by the best song Lizzy never wrote, `Bound For Glory,' recalling (outside of an intro almost identical to Whitesnake's `Guilty of Love') the classic Black Rose era with its `Get Out of Here' punch, chorus shout-backs, trademark solo and twin-harmony guitars to the fore.

'Bound For Glory' also highlights Ricky Warwick's vocal similarities to Phil Lynott (a natural similarity, not a mimicked tonality).
But, depending on your musical point of view, Warwick's Lynott-esque phrasing and inflections (no doubt more pronounced from having performed so many Lizzy songs over the last four years) either help or hinder proceedings.

The Lizzy family links continue with the Celtic rock of `Kingdom of the Lost,' a tribute to Gary Moore and his own Celtic/ Wild Frontier era if ever I heard one, and `Bloodshot,' a Celtic-tinged, hard rocking Lizzy/ Gary Moore hybrid.

And sadly when the songs aren't sound-a-likes they are either generic, 4/4 hard rock (`Kissin' the Ground,' `Hoodoo Voodoo') or second-rate Lizzy pastiches (`Hey Judas').

The heavy melodic pop of `Someday Salvation' helps freshen things up however, but the overly long closer `Blues Ain't So Bad' makes for an anti-climatic ending.

All of which leads to the conclusion a far better introduction to Black Star Riders would have been an EP, featuring the band's best four or five songs.

Because the Black Star Riders debut was only ever going to work if the material was strong throughout the entire album and didn't rely too heavily on the Lizzy sound, allowing the band to forge their own identity.

Despite what the die-hard Thin Lizzy fans and Scott Gorham supporters will hear or report, All Hell Breaks Loose fairs poorly on the first count while the jury is still out on the second.

And won't return with a verdict until The Boys Are Back in Town with their next album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
*Loved* the album. Phil's influence is apparent and celebrated - as it really should be. I'm so glad they didn't shy away from that. Scott's presence (& Marco Mendoza now) ensured authentic tones, harmonies and sound but I greatly enjoyed the writing & playing contributions of the vocalist (& sometimes guitarist) Ricky Warwick (he does sound remarkably like Phil, in a good way) and the extremely talented guitarist/writer, Damon Johnson, who really does come over as a genuine fan of Lizzy, striking some Robbo-style shapes and playing beautifully Celtic guitar lines -- particular enjoyed the acoustic numbers on youtube. It was great to hear this new material, which is surprisingly good. "You've got to give a little love
To those who love to live" - not forgetting love too for drummer Jimmy DeGrasso ;) - it is only in hindsight that I have learned to appreciate the greatness/perfection of Brian Downey's playing. This album proudly carries the Thin Lizzy hallmarks - in an entirely good way.

Great artwork & hardback packaging - although the type is too small for my poor old eyes :( -- its tempting to get the vinyl album version with a proper full size cover. Getting the DVD for an extra £1 is a good investment. I've become a fan :) Heck, I even bought their sweatshirt - and that is remarkable!

The first real Hard/Classic Rock album in 30 years? I think it might be, for me anyhow. There is something magic here. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£0.99
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)