Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
How does a movie as good as this get buried for nearly 40 years? 'The 14' was David Hemming's second feature after Running Scared the previous year (1972). The movie is based on the true story of a family of 14 children who, under the leadership of the oldest brother (played by the late Jack Wild then aged 20), attempt to stay together following the death of their single mother (played by a young June Brown). The movie is bittersweet and gritty, set in a somewhat derelict part of West London at the time of redevelopment. I suspect that apart from Jack, none of the young children had any previous acting experience, but that makes their performances all the more authentic. This movie will make you laugh and it will make you cry - it certainly deserved better than oblivion and my thanks go to whoever took the effort to get this DVD released. Extras include the theatrical trailer and a photo gallery but more importantly, the entire film in original 4:3 aspect ratio as shot, in addition to the 1.75:1 cinema release. As a piece of social history alone, this film is worth watching - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This is one of the social realism films that were made in that period and almost forgotten, the people that did a restoration job on this film made a very good job of it. The whole idea of this film is to try and destroy the stigma around having large families which I have witnessed and I hope still does not exist today. Similar films are Cathy Come Home and the very important Alan Bleasdale`s Youssor`s Story from Boys From The Blackstuff which at the time showed how the government can intervene when a family gets into trouble and the children taken into care . If you like Alan Bleasdales`s work you will like this film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
IN THE CLASSIC DOCUMENTARY STYLE OF CATHY COME HOME OR POOR COW, THE THOUGHT OF WATCHING THIS AT SATURDAY MORNING PICTURES,LET ALONE CBBC IN 2014 WOULD BE A SHOCK TO MY OFFSPRING.IT IS SUPERB! THE KIDS ARE AMAZING!...WHAT BECAME OF THEM? JUNE BROWN AND ANNA WING WHAT CAN YOU SAY? SHOULD HAVE BEEN AMONG OUR BIGGEST STARS.DIRTY FACES AND TIN BATHS,,,THEM WAS THE DAYS!!!!!AND WHAT ABOUT ADVENTURE PLAYGROUNDS,BUILT BY KIDS AND YOUTHWORKERS?????HEALTH AND SAFETY PAH! UNLESS YOU ARE MADE FROM STONE,OR SPEND YOUR TIME TWEETING HATE, OR WATCHING HATE YOUR FELLOW MAN ON TV!!!!!YOU WILL LOVE THIS.JACK WILD... WHAT A FACE! FROM AMAZON UK
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Love this movie , Jack Wild is amazing as Reg the eldest child. I got a surprise when I realised Dot Cotton from Eastenders played the mother , all round good film that highlights the issues that so many families go through even in this day and age. Buy the movie!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
A rare opportunity to see this largely forgotten British film. An interesting cast featuring a very young June Brown [Dot Cotton of Eastenders], Jack Wild [the Artful Dodger in the Musical of Oliver], Anna Wing who also starred in Eastenders 30 years ago and the wonderful Alun Armstrong. Directed by the fine British actor David Hemmings.
The story focuses on the plight of a family of 14 children and the struggle to keep them together after the premature death of their single mother. Often very funny despite the sadness of the family's situation and battles with authority.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I think this was a very touching movie and I like movies based on truth. I have already recommend this movie to friends and family.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie and the hottie Jack Wild! I purchased a multi-region DVD player just so I could watch it...worth every penny!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Loved this gritty Hemmings docu drama starting Jack Wild who is fantastic in it. Would highly recommend. Esp if you're a 'Wildie'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Brown is awesome. Hard film, but great if you like this kind of stuff. ( and I do)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Very Good Film and a delight to see jack wild in this movie playing a good part
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)