Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
66
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2015
overwrought
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Haven't had time to see this film as summer very busy but will do so soon and comment on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
I'm a big fan of the actors in this series. Gabriel Byrne has been in some of my favourite films, particularly Miller's Crossing, and is faultless. Michael Gambon is a master at making fine acting look easy. I've also enjoyed the books which this series was based on, so naturally I was looking forward to sitting back and simply letting myself enjoy what should have been some of the best television of the year.

Unfortunately, in spite of having fine actors, gripping stories to base it on, characters which leap off the page in the novels and a situation which should make for great television drama, and of course the backing of the BBC, this series failed to live up to expectations. The pacing was slow, hesitant even, every point seemed laboured, and the subtlety of the books was lost. The acting was sound, but with a lack of adequate direction it all seemed rather lacking.

It's clear that whoever produced and directed the series had seen the recent American hits such as Boardwalk Empire, Mad Men or True Detective, and camera work, pacing, fine detailing and design were all clearly influenced by them. However, while those series are masterclasses, this wasn't. It's one thing to read a book, it's another to write one yourself. I'm sure everyone worked hard at making this series, it really did have a quality feel, but the style didn't have the substance which was needed to back it up.

Brilliant actors deserve better, and so do viewers. If any more are made, I doubt I'll watch them. Probably better to stick to the books, which I'd recommend highly. This was okay at best, but rather a missed opportunity.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Slow moving and dark (literally... It seems to always be night in this film), but quite compelling. The stars are for Gabriel Byrne who gives an extraordinary performance as a lonely, tortured, ( but uncanny in his brilliance) pathologist who cannot resist involving himself in solving mysteries. Alcoholism is a powerful subtext here. A good watch on a lazy afternoon by the fire... The incessant cold and rain in the film evoke the need for warm tea and a fire!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Gabriel Byrne, what a brilliant actor, featuring in an equally brilliant cast. Each of these feature length episodes kept me glued to my seat. The story is intriguing with lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. This is a beautiful looking series, true to it's time, not only with it's appearance but also with wonderful dialogue and attitude, it made me believe that I was there, in the 1950's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
I read a lot of reviews of the TV series, about mumbling,incomprehensible text... So I wasn't expecting much.
But I understand every word, no problems with the sound.
No adaptation of a book is ever really as rich as the book itself, but nevertheless immensely enjoyable, well acted, and no problem with the sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I read all of the books with Quirke -- I loved them, especially the first one (Christine Falls). To condense the books into an hour and a half is quite remarkable. Acting is top notch. Stories a bit somber, but lots of twists, turns and surprises making great stories. I plan on watching them again soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
You can always rely on Gabriel Byrne, fantastic actor.

I enjoyed this series very much. Each episode takes it's time in building characters and story, but really packs a punch.

Great drama...recommended, but you have to concentrate or you won't get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Similar to the "Philomena" story and just as moving. Gabriel Byrne is utterly believable in the title role, the tortured, chain-smoking, alcoholic Quirke. It's not a happy story, but it rings true from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
QUIRKE IS HAUNTINGLY BEAUTIFUL,WITH A CAST WHO GIVE PERFORMANCES OF CLASS AND DISTINCTION.ITS LOCATION, DUBLIN 1957 WHICH IS DARK,GREY AT ITS BRIGHTEST,AND THE COMPLEX MIX OF FAMILY AND THE PART CHIEF PATHOLOGIST OF THE CITYS MORGUE PLAYS IN EVERY STORY IS SUPERB FOR THE SUBLIME GABRIEL BYRNE CARRYS THE ROLE OF TROUBLED LONER IN HIS STRIDE.LOVED THE WAY IT WAS SHOT WHICH IS BRAVE ENOUGH TO BE IN THE SLOW LANE WITHOUT THE NEED TO BEAT YOU OVER THE HEAD WITH CLEVER DIALOGUE ! THE THEME TUNE IS GREAT AS WELL AND PLEASE MAKE SOME MORE BBC/RTE.THE ACTORS ARE ALL FAB AND I WAS SAD IT ONLY RAN THREE (THOUGH IT HAS TO BE SAID 3 FILMS) GREAT STUFF QUIRKE ON DVD VIA AMAZON .U.K. ADAPTED FROM THE NOVELS OF BENJAMIN BLACK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)